Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

7.7/10
199 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
7
20
49
54
49
17

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

199 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 128 ratings

Un rhum comme je les aime. Pas trop sur l'alcool. Belle robe

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pimms88 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

A very fresh rum that can be enjoyed by most. One of my favourites

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 64 ratings

Highly recommend this rum. It's enjoyable and smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 387 ratings

Dosage: 10-15 gr/L
This rum is not too sweet. Reminds me of Zaya 12 (cocoa and spice).
It's quite rich. I get cocoa, dry fruits and herbs in the nose. There is also the burned sugar and mandarine. Aromas are from a column still, but the combination is not bad.

The taste goes also in that direction. I get burned sugar, tannins, dry fruits (I have mandarine and peaches here). In the end some caramel, cocoa and cloves.
The finish is spicy, again tannins, dry fruits and caramel with cocoa.

It's a nice Christmas rum on the cocoa sind. Would rate it with 76 points.

Smell: cocoa, dry fruits, herbs, burned sugar, mandarine, some spices, some barrel (oak).
Taste: burned sugar, tannins, dry fruits (mandarin, peach), caramel, cocoa, cloves
Finish: spice, some tannins, cocoa, dark chocolate, spices, oak and earth

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (60€): 2/5

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 54 ratings

i really like this, but again another rum i wish had been sweetened less and presented at 90 proof. lovely treacle, caramel, and brown butter notes in nose and taste. really want this to be better, so much potential. for the price you can do a lot better. if they could fix the price or the proof, i could see this as a 9....

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 96 ratings

...the bottle is the best about it, like the champagne bottle look, even though there are far fancier and more costly looking bottles.

Well, the rum did not smell good at all, meaning so lush and boring...unfortunately the taste as well...I did not even wanted to finish the nosing glass,...

So happy I did not buy a bottle before a tasting.

Due to the fact, that it is a nice bottle and premium rum from Gosling's I rate it a 5.0.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 434 ratings

Velmi příjemný rum, ve vůni i v chutí nasládlý, typické ostřejší Goslings koření

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

Not bad, not great. And a bit syrupy for my taste. I had it neat. Will try again with some ice and see what happens.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Regan from Canada with 78 ratings

A buddy picked up a bottle of this and he and some friends went pirate on its ass and finished the bottle ... “ why is the alway gone “” so he picked up another bottle to bring home , to my luck I got to sample said bottle my buddy is smitten with this one and loves the absolute smoothness of it I’m kinda of it’s a very good rum but not my bottle thanks
But as the title says numbers matter as these are numbered by year and cask so not every bottle will taste the exact same
Now he picked up for $65 cdn so not a bad price for a top notch drinker 👍

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Fred from Canada with 11 ratings

Un très bon rum mais pour le prix il y en a des meilleurs. Tous de même un rum qui se démarque!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Myran from Sweden with 34 ratings

Bra förpackning, bra historia. Men framförallt en topp rom med mycket sötma och lång eftersmak, topp 10.