Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

7.8/10 (178 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
19
42
44
49
16

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


178 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

75429fb1abedfafd8acdce017a35c418.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Akis from Greece with 32 ratings

Long leg, strong kick, a little bit heavy but with nice aromas of honey cinnamon and smoked oak barrel. Pleasant

9cd171a96de87cbc504c8e4bb40ee60a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Harry from Canada with 1 rating

I recieved a bottle of this from students at the end of a term. Fantastic presentation from the straw filled box to the wax seal on the bottle. Once poured, the sweet smell of molasses & the contrasting scent of tobacco touch your senses. Once it hits your tongue the molasses continues and picks up cinnamon and nutmeg along the way. The finish is long and warm, smokey and fruity. What a great find.

930906d9c2d0c4cd57886b879bd99f71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

I wanted to love this rum. I didn’t. All the notes of wood and amazing flavor typically found in an older rum were missing. Reminded me of just molasses.

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40%. Don't let the packaging fool you... there's no age statement (NAS), so could be 2yo (or unaged) with a drop of 16. Also no additives disclosures. Notes: whoa, big chocolate chip cookie rum. Loads of brown sugar. Very rich and sweet. Very sweet. Slightly bitter, molasses-y finish, with a good bite.

A very strange experience, for this price point. I tried it at the house of a friend who is also into rum, and had been given a bottle by another friend. We all tried it, and praised certain qualities, but when the gifter left the room, my friend and I exchanged knowing looks. We were both pretty disappointed. There may only be 15g/L of added sugar, but the whole package is just sweet and messy. I'm really not impressed, and I don't want more. I don't drink rum for dessert. This is kind of an insult. And it just saddens me that so many people are willing to shell out so much cash for a mediocre rum when so many better ones are available for far less!

6-, 5+

9d2f13529aaa6650ecc6f7d71b8fc7b4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

Made from molasses from what I understand. Accordingly, tastes a little more complex and deeper than most of the rums I've had so far. Still pretty smooth and very good. Better than a lot of the ones I've had so far.

42fbe212f63f901976ccdcfba452ad74.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Mekka from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

At the moment my favourite sipping rum. Smooth and flavourful. I prefer it it neat, no ice.

3fcd6e097dedc5508bd36896d38e6691.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by iana from Canada with 11 ratings

Great bottle great packaging
Velvet finish
Let it breath and then sip
Love this rum

2cdbcefa7d32dc71666e8d1a413cd711.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Chris from Canada with 7 ratings

Very smooth and exquisite taste! I cannot wait to get some more Cigars!

C781a52f7352878573e8484f77459221.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Kie humphreys from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Thought this rum would give a lot more. Aroma is not as strong as it should be and lacks punch in flavour. Good colour but doesn't seem as viscous as it should be.

961841aced45b9f715c3597c32d1888f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Thomas Fuhs from United States with 23 ratings

Has a similar taste to other Goslings brands. Honestly forgot about it by the time I finished it. Too nice for dark and stormies, but can’t keep with with the fine sipping rums to seems to compete with.