Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


175 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Tasted it in a restaurant after the meal. Liked it. Colour cherry-like and some "fruit" to it (lightly). Spicy and smooth as a good old rhum. Nothing outstanding however.

Posted over 3 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

This is one of the most beautiful packages you'll ever find. A wooden box with individually numbered bottles. The bottle looks like a bottle of great wine with an amazing wax seal.

Once you've gotten past the package and try it, you'll find a darker and thicker rum than most. It is a complex rum. The spices are the dominate aroma/taste. Some carmel. Worth sipping with an ice cube if it suits you but it is quite strong as a sipper.

A little expensive compared to other options but worth trying if you can.

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

This is so indulgent, such a treat! dark rum, sweet, complex, treacle, cloves, so lovely, its all going on in that glass of mine, perfect for this cold winter evening with the wood burner blasting away! It's really does benefit from resting, I poured mine neat into the glass and left for a good half hour. A tad expensive but we'll worth a treat if you feel like you deserve one, enjoy.

Posted over 3 years ago by Glenn from United States with 5 ratings

Best sipping rum I've tried to date. I get a bottle at Christmas every year.

Posted over 3 years ago by Maik22 from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Nádherně aromatický rum. Vůně po čokoládě,hodí se hodně k pečným švestkám. Každý rok pouze 22 tisíc lahví na světě.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

A nice colour of burnish reddish amber. Smells of caramel, molasses, liquorice with a taste of bitter chocolate, oaky dryness, spice and some liquorice. Overall a creamy texture coating your mouth.

Medium/long smooth finish, sweetish hint of spice and oak but surprisingly very dry in the finish.

It's a nice rum although a bit pricey. Lovely presentation though so would make a nice gift.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from Canada with 21 ratings

Strong sipper comes in a great package a fine gift for a good friend.

Posted over 3 years ago by Paul from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

Plenty of spice and chocolate, but so smooth and soft and not too sweet. Over ice or its own!

Posted over 3 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

A personal favorite that I always enjoy smelling, sipping and savoring.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marvin from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Oproti základní Black Seal verzi výrazný pokrok - je dost osobitý, nejsilnější složkou v chuti je čokoláda s mátovou náplní.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Awesome as shot I know it's offensive but really deep taste

Posted almost 4 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

A new selection in the razor thin LCBO premium rum collection.
Great presentation with the wax coating and wooden display box.
Into the glass it goes dark as midnight.
Very nice nose; no astringency at all.
In the mouth I taste tonnes of tobacco and dark chocolate; very smooth. It sort of reminds me of diplomatico but from what I can tell; without all the added sugar.
I like this stuff; I think I'm gonna need a back up bottle for my collection.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Bottle looked nice, rum was dark brown color.

The taste itself is a mix of caramel, coca, bitter-sweet almonds, the throat is pleasant with a smooth afterburn. You can feel something like a bitter almond feeling lingering in your mouth minutes after the sipping.

Posted about 4 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

First of all, let it breath as much as possible to let the aromas take the best of the alcohol.
Then you will start to smell vanilla and chocolate. Drinking it you will taste chocolate again.
I read many different aromas from previous comments, but personally I smelled and tasted a very strong chocolate flavor, which obviously was great.
Maybe I will start to taste so more after some more drinks. Also I tried it with ice and actually felt it suited it better, eventho I normally don't us ice with my rums.
It was a close between 8 and 9, but I think it is a little bit on the expensive side, but overall, go ahead, it is a very good rum

Bottle no: 5 885 / 13
Sugar: 15 GPL

Posted about 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I have partook in a fair amount of Gosling's rum but this one is a hit. Very nice, excellent from start to finish. The rum has a very unique lift off. When you first take a sip it will burn just a hint but the burn dies off and turns into a smooth slide right in home. Notes of dry fruits, a hint of leather and just the right sweetness. I tried it a variety of ways and neat is by far the best. Just say no to Coke!

Posted about 4 years ago by Dale from United States with 13 ratings

Smooth, sweet and a great nose. A little vanilla and fruit, with a touch of leather and wood. Perfect neat.

Posted about 4 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

Caramel and brown sugar nose with cream and caramel smooth finish.

Posted about 4 years ago by Car Birch from United States with 10 ratings

This rum is outstanding! The presentation is gorgeous but the rum is even better. Literally you can taste something different every sip! Don't cut it with anything. Straight up with a few drops of water to bring out more flavor. The cost is steep, but if you can afford it, you won't regret it!! I promise!

Posted about 4 years ago by Gavin Kelly from Ireland with 1 rating

Very happy with that, very smooth with small amount of Cola, ice and lime. Yes very smooth... Ordering more bottles very soon:) If you are looking for something that doesn't bite and enjoy a drink- this is it!

Posted about 4 years ago by Jack Sparrow from United States with 3 ratings

A rich deep bronze glow in appearance scent is a slight caramelized sugar scent with an initial rush to the palette and a smooth finish. I enjoy this straight up or with a cube of ice.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

You're gonna need to let her breathe first. I let it sit for 5 min and that wasn't enough I might update this later. Yeah it's harsh at first lots of vanilla oak raisin taste. The smokey is just perfect. Honestly can't take this one straight and maybe why I will follow up with more breathing time. In coke it is perfect. Literally the ideal rum and coke. Not a very complex rum by any means but it posses a long taste. I would enjoy this rum more if it was cheaper. But o wait it is if you enjoying it in a rum and coke. Literally it makes an almost identical rum and coke to pussers blue label. So if you're enjoying it that way switch to pussers blue and save yourself about 35$. Still a very good rum but unless you're some super taster blah blah save yourself the money.

Posted over 4 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

One of my favourite rum's to date, premium dark rum with treacle, raisins and caramel that is smooth to drink straight. A splash on a good vanilla ice cream creates sex sounds in your mouth... fantastic mixed with ginger and lime, but no point in wasting it.

I think I would have to agree with others, it does better after a little time to breathe, allowing it to bring out its full character.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumtastic from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Nose: Those dark chocolate coated stem gingers you get at Christmas. Earthy damp forest floors and smoky char from the casks. Dry, heavy roasted coffee beans and even some menthol. Pretty complex, and way more complex than standard “Black Seal”.

Palate: Good mouth feel. Bitter dark chocolate and unsweetened black coffee. Tannic (tea) and then quite sappy/resinous. Plenty of oak and some of that smoke from the barrel char that I found on the nose. Sours a little as it moves to the finish.

Finish: Long. Now it’s time for the herbs to play; totally savoury with pine sap, oak, herbal tablet and tails off with that menthol note.

More here:
https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/24/goslings-family-reserve-review/

Posted over 4 years ago by Louis Ross from Canada with 15 ratings

This is a dark, rich rum that is strong but lacks depth. It tastes younger than it looks especially compared to top-tier aged rums. Its full of spice and caramel- big chocolate taste.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chri$$ from Austria with 18 ratings

Der Rum besticht durch seinen sehr aussergewöhnlichen Rauch- und Karamellgeschmack. Etwas herb, zu einer kräftigen Zigarre passt er ganz gut.