Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

7.8/10 (192 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
20
44
51
52
17

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

192 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marvin from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Oproti základní Black Seal verzi výrazný pokrok - je dost osobitý, nejsilnější složkou v chuti je čokoláda s mátovou náplní.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Tab Bonidy from United States with 5 ratings

This is the best rum I have ever tasted. It should be served over ice without any mixers. almost bourbon like in flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 25 ratings

Den är intressant men inte riktigt min smak, kan inte sätta fingret på vad det är.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Izzy from Sweden with 18 ratings

Nice dark amber color
Nose: raisins, Seville orange, vanilla , dried dates
Taste: spicy, vanilla, raisins and Sevilla orange, warm feeling with some bitter aftertaste.
The rhum would rest longer in the glass to open up - but it was too late for me when I heard that (I only had 3 cl to taste it and I did it very quickly).

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by GH (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

Beautiful packaging; very dark, nice color in the glass; slight fruit & spice on the nose; a nice, dry rum, thankfully no added sugar that I taste across my inexperienced palette; slightly sweet, vanilla & caramel across the tongue; warm vanilla across the backend; terrific bottle at a great price.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Mark Ogilvie from United States with 16 ratings

Very familiar aroma to folks who know their way around Black Seal. This is Gosling's premium rum and I was expecting a sort of upscale version of Black Seal, but was still disappointed to find that was kind of just what I got.

It starts of quite syrupy and sweet, almost as if someone had made a mixed drink with Dr. Pepper and let it sit long enough to go flat. The flavor quickly matures, though, and while it keeps that pepperiness, the straight sweetness mellows down into that characteristic molasses richness of Gosling's, giving way to vanilla, oak (really quite heavy on the bitter oak to cut through that sweetness), and maybe raisins or dates. Considering how sweet it opens up, the finish is very long, dry and woody. The texture of the drink is very smooth; another commenter described it as buttery, and that feels very accurate. It has a pleasant mouthfeel, though it finishes syrupy in the back of the palate.

Overall, it's nice, but there are many much nicer rums that are half this price. I don't regret revisiting Gosling's after all these years, and this would probably make an excellent mixer, but for the price, no one's going to want to get this just to make rum n' cokes. Get two bottles of something like R.L Seale's instead.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 232 ratings

Opening a box and bottle is very impressive, but the rum inside does not fully live up to the 8 or 9 presentation. Smooth on the nose, very dark rich color first taste a lot of spice and a slight alcohol bite. A richer more complex variant than normal Goslings. I truly expected a little more.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by JosephCharles from Canada with 24 ratings

Au nez, on sent le caramel, le chocolat et la cannelle.
En bouche, arômes de miel, de vanille et d'épices.
La finale est persistante.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Deleo88 from Singapore with 4 ratings

Beautiful rum. Deep colour with levels of complexity. Keeps you coming back for more. Love the rustic bottle and packaging as well

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Dennis Cufone from United States with 12 ratings

Packaging is impressive. 1st pour shows a really dark rum. This is a nice sipping rum. Pour over ice with 2 shakes of bitters for a really nice experience!

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Midway from Sweden with 11 ratings

Writhing this as I sip my first glass of this rather special run. Chocolate and tobacco in the smell, very dark colored and a spicy taste that is not too sweet. Chocolate in the after taste as well.