Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

7.8/10 (192 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
20
44
51
52
17

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

192 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 124 ratings

Un rhum comme je les aime. Pas trop sur l'alcool. Belle robe

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Very unique rum. Smells like burned sugar and fruit. This is also present in the taste. First sip was a bit harsh, but the 2nd sip onwards was really nice to sip on. My palette is not advanced enough to describe all the different flavors, but this is something special alright.
Big step up from the regular Black Seal, which is a decent mixer. Gave this one an 8, but is very close to a 9. Might upgrade after a few more glasses.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Erik Lööf from Sweden with 10 ratings

One of the best bottles. A Nice dark rhum with lots of dried fruits in the aroma.

A real sipper with taste of caramell, oak and spicy one of the best I have tasted

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

If you like to sip Gosling's flagship Black Seal rum, you're gonna really enjoy this much smoother, more elegant version. It's rich, thick and full of the flavors which Gosling's is known for....chocolate, port wine and spices.

Don't mix this with soda pop! Perfect just as it is.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 121 ratings

One of the very best rums I have had, whether it is worth the $60 price tag is a matter of preference. I would likely rather have a bottle of Mt gay extra old and a bottle of El Dorado 12, but this is one any rum lover should try once. Everything an aged rum should be - rich, complex, fruity, woody, with a sweet finish.

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 5 days ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Ve vůni je cítit cokolada, pomeranče a bylinky. Barva krásně tmavá. V chuti zejména pomeranc, vanilka. Závěr v chuti trochu pepře, která přechází do dřevitosti.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by Michal Ulík (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Unikátní rum v netypickém balení. Goslings family reserve pochází ze stejné směsi Bermudského rumu jako je u klasického goslings dark seal rumu. V dubových sudech leží ale mnohem déle. Stárne, dokud nedostane takovou lahodnou chuť, jako má například stará whisky nebo koňak. Je tedy více než jen tekutina a láhev. Každá láhev má proto voskovou pečeť na hrdle a individuální číslo. V San Francisku získal dvojitou zlatou medaili.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Russ from United States with 98 ratings

I’m a fan of the regular Gosling’s and it’s my go-to for a Dark and Stormy so I was looking forward to this one. However, I was left a little underwhelmed.

The nose is very nice with notes of caramel and fruit. However, the first taste is extremely sweet with tastes of chocolate and more caramel.

I think this would be nice as an dessert drink even if it is a little expensive.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by rsx11 from United States with 4 ratings

This is a nice, rich, black rum. Essentially, an aged version of the classic. It has that unique Goslings nose, which is very nice. It also tastes like Goslings but smoother, and with a bit more depth and creamy mouth feel. Overall, very nice and good for both sipping and mixing.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Very basic name, but very nice flavor and smooth too. Worth the price.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 47 ratings

Classy presentation in a dark, wax-dipped champagne bottle. I don’t normally comment too much on a rum’s colour, either, but happily make an exception here as this is truly a gorgeous dark, reddish mahogany hue, with copper edges. It looks “old” and elegant. Before nosing or tasting, I judged the colour of this rum to be amongst the very best I have seen.

The nose offers pronounced, deep aromas of oak, molasses, dark fruits (esp. raisin) and baking spices like nutmeg, clove and ginger. Just...wow! It is very captivating. I nosed the Glencairn for 10 minutes before taking the first sip. There is a deep and brooding quality to the nose that is simply incredible.

The palate is focused and structured, with flavours echoing the nose - wood, molasses and spice. There is just a slight hint of sweetness but this is definitely not a sweet rum. Fabulous! A slight black pepper note introduces the medium-length finish. To me, everything about this rum conjures up an ideal of what great rum should be. Simply sensational! Highly recommended.