Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

7.8/10 (182 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
19
43
47
49
16

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


182 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Tasted it in a restaurant after the meal. Liked it. Colour cherry-like and some "fruit" to it (lightly). Spicy and smooth as a good old rhum. Nothing outstanding however.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Erik Lööf from Sweden with 10 ratings

One of the best bottles. A Nice dark rhum with lots of dried fruits in the aroma.

A real sipper with taste of caramell, oak and spicy one of the best I have tasted

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

If you like to sip Gosling's flagship Black Seal rum, you're gonna really enjoy this much smoother, more elegant version. It's rich, thick and full of the flavors which Gosling's is known for....chocolate, port wine and spices.

Don't mix this with soda pop! Perfect just as it is.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

One of the very best rums I have had, whether it is worth the $60 price tag is a matter of preference. I would likely rather have a bottle of Mt gay extra old and a bottle of El Dorado 12, but this is one any rum lover should try once. Everything an aged rum should be - rich, complex, fruity, woody, with a sweet finish.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by GH (PREMIUM) from United States with 33 ratings

Beautiful packaging; very dark, nice color in the glass; slight fruit & spice on the nose; a nice, dry rum, thankfully no added sugar that I taste across my inexperienced palette; slightly sweet, vanilla & caramel across the tongue; warm vanilla across the backend; terrific bottle at a great price.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Mark Ogilvie from United States with 16 ratings

Very familiar aroma to folks who know their way around Black Seal. This is Gosling's premium rum and I was expecting a sort of upscale version of Black Seal, but was still disappointed to find that was kind of just what I got.

It starts of quite syrupy and sweet, almost as if someone had made a mixed drink with Dr. Pepper and let it sit long enough to go flat. The flavor quickly matures, though, and while it keeps that pepperiness, the straight sweetness mellows down into that characteristic molasses richness of Gosling's, giving way to vanilla, oak (really quite heavy on the bitter oak to cut through that sweetness), and maybe raisins or dates. Considering how sweet it opens up, the finish is very long, dry and woody. The texture of the drink is very smooth; another commenter described it as buttery, and that feels very accurate. It has a pleasant mouthfeel, though it finishes syrupy in the back of the palate.

Overall, it's nice, but there are many much nicer rums that are half this price. I don't regret revisiting Gosling's after all these years, and this would probably make an excellent mixer, but for the price, no one's going to want to get this just to make rum n' cokes. Get two bottles of something like R.L Seale's instead.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 86 ratings

Opening a box and bottle is very impressive, but the rum inside does not fully live up to the 8 or 9 presentation. Smooth on the nose, very dark rich color first taste a lot of spice and a slight alcohol bite. A richer more complex variant than normal Goslings. I truly expected a little more.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by JosephCharles from Canada with 18 ratings

Au nez, on sent le caramel, le chocolat et la cannelle.
En bouche, arômes de miel, de vanille et d'épices.
La finale est persistante.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Deleo88 from Singapore with 4 ratings

Beautiful rum. Deep colour with levels of complexity. Keeps you coming back for more. Love the rustic bottle and packaging as well

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Dennis Cufone from United States with 12 ratings

Packaging is impressive. 1st pour shows a really dark rum. This is a nice sipping rum. Pour over ice with 2 shakes of bitters for a really nice experience!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Midway from Sweden with 11 ratings

Writhing this as I sip my first glass of this rather special run. Chocolate and tobacco in the smell, very dark colored and a spicy taste that is not too sweet. Chocolate in the after taste as well.