Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

7.8/10
198 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
20
49
54
49
17

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

198 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Linus from Switzerland with 13 ratings

I am certainly no rum tasting genious but with this "old rum" I expected it to be a bit more "mature" than it is. There are many other rums for half the price that have a compareable taste. I could't find any unique characteristic.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Very unique rum. Smells like burned sugar and fruit. This is also present in the taste. First sip was a bit harsh, but the 2nd sip onwards was really nice to sip on. My palette is not advanced enough to describe all the different flavors, but this is something special alright.
Big step up from the regular Black Seal, which is a decent mixer. Gave this one an 8, but is very close to a 9. Might upgrade after a few more glasses.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Erik Lööf from Sweden with 10 ratings

One of the best bottles. A Nice dark rhum with lots of dried fruits in the aroma.

A real sipper with taste of caramell, oak and spicy one of the best I have tasted

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

If you like to sip Gosling's flagship Black Seal rum, you're gonna really enjoy this much smoother, more elegant version. It's rich, thick and full of the flavors which Gosling's is known for....chocolate, port wine and spices.

Don't mix this with soda pop! Perfect just as it is.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 26 gpl. This is a sweet dark rum. In the glass it smells like burnt sugar, Chocolate, cherries, vanilla, and oak and it tastes that way as well. It's very smooth with a bit of a bite at first but that goes away quickly and the rum goes down quite easily. It doesn't have a long finish and has a moderate after burn. It is quite enjoyable and is a big step up from the other Gosling rums. Mixing this rum would be a waste as it already has a bit of Cola taste in it. Not sure if it is worth the price tag in terms of a repurchasing. I liked it, but didn't like it enough to buy a second bottle right away. I give this a 6.5 for taste and a half point for the packaging.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

One of the very best rums I have had, whether it is worth the $60 price tag is a matter of preference. I would likely rather have a bottle of Mt gay extra old and a bottle of El Dorado 12, but this is one any rum lover should try once. Everything an aged rum should be - rich, complex, fruity, woody, with a sweet finish.

Small 35773fad 66c7 4981 9202 7f18201fd5ef

Posted 2 months ago by Althaur from United States with 10 ratings

First, my nose and palate can’t sense all of the nuances some others can. That being said, I enjoyed this. After it sat in the glass for a bit, it had a nice smell that reminds me of maple syrup, similar to some other rums I really like. It had a pleasant taste, not too sweet, not too sharp. I had a wonderful after taste of oak. It went surprisingly well with my snack of salami, aged cheddar, and garlic stuffed olives on the deck.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Martin Eldonson from Sweden with 19 ratings

Luktar helt fantastiskt, smak av framförallt plommon, blir trevligate och trevligare ju fler gånger jag dricker den,. Väldigt annorlunda

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by spagr from Czech Republic with 43 ratings

Tasted in Drinks By The Dram - The Rum Advent Calendar (2019 Edition)

Small 20201224 130652

Posted 7 months ago by Traypark76 from Canada with 15 ratings

Perfect dark rum , not too sweet . One of my new favourites. Nice presentation with large wax seal .

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 49 ratings

Enjoyable to sip, this is a very mild rum, well rested. I didn't get anything extraordinary out of it, just nice and relaxing.