Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

7.8/10 (189 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
20
44
49
51
17

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


189 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Marvin from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Oproti základní Black Seal verzi výrazný pokrok - je dost osobitý, nejsilnější složkou v chuti je čokoláda s mátovou náplní.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Very unique rum. Smells like burned sugar and fruit. This is also present in the taste. First sip was a bit harsh, but the 2nd sip onwards was really nice to sip on. My palette is not advanced enough to describe all the different flavors, but this is something special alright.
Big step up from the regular Black Seal, which is a decent mixer. Gave this one an 8, but is very close to a 9. Might upgrade after a few more glasses.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Erik Lööf from Sweden with 10 ratings

One of the best bottles. A Nice dark rhum with lots of dried fruits in the aroma.

A real sipper with taste of caramell, oak and spicy one of the best I have tasted

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

If you like to sip Gosling's flagship Black Seal rum, you're gonna really enjoy this much smoother, more elegant version. It's rich, thick and full of the flavors which Gosling's is known for....chocolate, port wine and spices.

Don't mix this with soda pop! Perfect just as it is.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

One of the very best rums I have had, whether it is worth the $60 price tag is a matter of preference. I would likely rather have a bottle of Mt gay extra old and a bottle of El Dorado 12, but this is one any rum lover should try once. Everything an aged rum should be - rich, complex, fruity, woody, with a sweet finish.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by rsx11 from United States with 4 ratings

This is a nice, rich, black rum. Essentially, an aged version of the classic. It has that unique Goslings nose, which is very nice. It also tastes like Goslings but smoother, and with a bit more depth and creamy mouth feel. Overall, very nice and good for both sipping and mixing.

Ffffff

Posted 8 days ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Very basic name, but very nice flavor and smooth too. Worth the price.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 38 ratings

Classy presentation in a dark, wax-dipped champagne bottle. I don’t normally comment too much on a rum’s colour, either, but happily make an exception here as this is truly a gorgeous dark, reddish mahogany hue, with copper edges. It looks “old” and elegant. Before nosing or tasting, I judged the colour of this rum to be amongst the very best I have seen.

The nose offers pronounced, deep aromas of oak, molasses, dark fruits (esp. raisin) and baking spices like nutmeg, clove and ginger. Just...wow! It is very captivating. I nosed the Glencairn for 10 minutes before taking the first sip. There is a deep and brooding quality to the nose that is simply incredible.

The palate is focused and structured, with flavours echoing the nose - wood, molasses and spice. There is just a slight hint of sweetness but this is definitely not a sweet rum. Fabulous! A slight black pepper note introduces the medium-length finish. To me, everything about this rum conjures up an ideal of what great rum should be. Simply sensational! Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Tab Bonidy from United States with 5 ratings

This is the best rum I have ever tasted. It should be served over ice without any mixers. almost bourbon like in flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 21 ratings

Den är intressant men inte riktigt min smak, kan inte sätta fingret på vad det är.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Izzy from Sweden with 18 ratings

Nice dark amber color
Nose: raisins, Seville orange, vanilla , dried dates
Taste: spicy, vanilla, raisins and Sevilla orange, warm feeling with some bitter aftertaste.
The rhum would rest longer in the glass to open up - but it was too late for me when I heard that (I only had 3 cl to taste it and I did it very quickly).