Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


175 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Tasted it in a restaurant after the meal. Liked it. Colour cherry-like and some "fruit" to it (lightly). Spicy and smooth as a good old rhum. Nothing outstanding however.

Posted about 2 months ago by miRcea SAVA from Romania with 16 ratings

Mild. Not so strong, not so flavoured. Alcohol is very well blended with the aroma. Nice sweetness at the beginning. At the end a nice dark chocolate flavour.
One of my favourites!

Posted 2 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 42 ratings

Strong burnt sugar, chocolate, and tobacco on the nose. More oak on the pallet than I care for.

Posted 2 months ago by Lerxst from Canada with 8 ratings

This my favourite rum. Dark, rich, complex flavors. Always have a bottle in my cabinet.

Posted 3 months ago by John frederick from United States with 40 ratings

Visited a different liquor store and found this. On the expensive side. Rather plain though, nothing special about it. Would take 2 zacapas rather than this for the price

Posted 3 months ago by jlagleva from United States with 6 ratings

Pretty good rum. Not great, but very nice to chill with.

Posted 4 months ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Nice and sippable with a darker colour than your average rum. Worth tasting because it is a bit different, but doesn’t quite live up to expectations based on the price.

Posted 4 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

So delicious, smooth, charming. Simply, the best drink in my life.

Posted 4 months ago by Rick from United States with 8 ratings

For the price, age, and ratings, I expected more. Good taste, But not as smooth as I’d like.

Posted 4 months ago by Pimms88 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

A very fresh rum that can be enjoyed by most. One of my favourites

Posted 4 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 22 ratings

Highly recommend this rum. It's enjoyable and smooth.

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Smell: Dry fruits, caramel, some spices, sweetness (reminds me of zacapa 23), some barrel (oak).
Taste: fruit, caramel, spice, slightly sweet, bitterness, some earth

Smells better than it tastes.

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

Posted 6 months ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

i really like this, but again another rum i wish had been sweetened less and presented at 90 proof. lovely treacle, caramel, and brown butter notes in nose and taste. really want this to be better, so much potential. for the price you can do a lot better. if they could fix the price or the proof, i could see this as a 9....

Posted 6 months ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 80 ratings

...the bottle is the best about it, like the champagne bottle look, even though there are far fancier and more costly looking bottles.

Well, the rum did not smell good at all, meaning so lush and boring...unfortunately the taste as well...I did not even wanted to finish the nosing glass,...

So happy I did not buy a bottle before a tasting.

Due to the fact, that it is a nice bottle and premium rum from Gosling's I rate it a 5.0.

Posted 6 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

Velmi příjemný rum, jemný, nasládlý. První zkušenost s touto značkou a velké překvapení!

Posted 7 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

Much better than normal Black Seal. Very rich and complex.
It is a little expensive, but I think it is worth it.
However, it's not the best rum for me.

Posted 7 months ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

Not bad, not great. And a bit syrupy for my taste. I had it neat. Will try again with some ice and see what happens.

Posted 7 months ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

A buddy picked up a bottle of this and he and some friends went pirate on its ass and finished the bottle ... “ why is the alway gone “” so he picked up another bottle to bring home , to my luck I got to sample said bottle my buddy is smitten with this one and loves the absolute smoothness of it I’m kinda of it’s a very good rum but not my bottle thanks
But as the title says numbers matter as these are numbered by year and cask so not every bottle will taste the exact same
Now he picked up for $65 cdn so not a bad price for a top notch drinker 👍

Posted 8 months ago by Fred from Canada with 11 ratings

Un très bon rum mais pour le prix il y en a des meilleurs. Tous de même un rum qui se démarque!

Posted 9 months ago by Myran from Sweden with 31 ratings

Bra förpackning, bra historia. Men framförallt en topp rom med mycket sötma och lång eftersmak, topp 10.

Posted 10 months ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Very strong alcoholic aroma and burn. Fruity tones and rough alcoholic burn. Reminds me of irish whiskey.

Posted 10 months ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

Gosling's Family Reserve Old - good and cheap but very sweet , good for rum&coke

Posted 10 months ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

I purchased a bottle while visit Bermuda and have been enjoying as a sipper, nice sweet warm taste, will definitely buy again

Posted 11 months ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Drinking it right now. This is a real rum. What a good rum should taste like. It's the the best I ever had but it would be great to drink in a leather arm chair by a fire listen to Exotica by Martin Denny

Posted 11 months ago by Akis from Greece with 32 ratings

Long leg, strong kick, a little bit heavy but with nice aromas of honey cinnamon and smoked oak barrel. Pleasant