Posting your rating...
Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

7.8/10 (192 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
20
44
51
52
17

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

192 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 124 ratings

Un rhum comme je les aime. Pas trop sur l'alcool. Belle robe

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

Sugar: 26 gpl. This is a sweet dark rum. In the glass it smells like Chocolate, cherries, vanilla, and oak and it tastes that way as well. It's very smooth with a bit of a bite at first but that goes away quickly and the rum goes down quite easily. It doesn't have a long finish and has a moderate after burn. It is quite enjoyable and is a big step up from the other Gosling rums. Mixing this rum would be a waste as it already has a bit of Cola taste in it. Not sure if it is worth the price tag in terms of a repurchasing. I liked it, but didn't like it enough to buy a second bottle right away. I give this an 7 for taste and it has the potential to be a 8 if you give points for the packaging.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

Very expensive, and a spectacular presentation, but hot, harsh, and bitterly oaky. Not worth the price at all.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

The bottle looks great with the black wax-seal, the bottle comes in a wooden box with hay and a glass-window. The rum is very complex, dark chocolate but not too sweet. It's for the advanced connaisseur, not for beginners. Not my things

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

Thick and heavy. It's the chocolate stout of rum. It tastes great, but I wouldn't drink more than one or two glasses before it would become too much. Could consider it as a re-buy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Ed from United States with 20 ratings

A very good dark rum with lots of complexity. It is sweet and caramel flavored while also being spicy with a woody tone. Definitely a sipping rum verses Goslings Black Seal. Fairly smooth too. This is one of the few good sipping dark rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Phil from Canada with 8 ratings

Gave it an 8 just for the awesome bottle and presentation. Looking forward to tasting it and will update the rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by tftowner106 from Canada with 23 ratings

The packaging led me to believe that this would be an exceptionally smooth full-bodied rum. Unfortunately, I found it rather plain and a bit harsh in the end. Wish companies would spend less on packaging/marketing and more on quality of their rum

Small 8a83c559 fe5a 41c3 8e6d 00e896ede43d

Posted 6 years ago by James Young from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

The rum isn't the most amazing or complex and you can get a lot more for your money. The bottle, black seal and box make the rum feel more special than it is. It does have a nice spice but the flavour isn't quite up to the standard of a £60 rum

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gary from Canada with 24 ratings

This rum has a lot of flavour without the sweetness of the regular Gosling's Black Seal Rum. Ice is the only thing needed to enjoy this fine rum, but not too much!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Gosling's Family Reserve Old Rum er en meget mørk og kraftig rom, både i duft og smag, som bliver den hængende.
En virkelig god super rom.