Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


360 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Zumzum from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

voni a chutna trosku kavove, trosku ostrejsi konec

Posted about 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

Here's one of my heroes! Great, unique rum that makes perfect 'Dark & Stormy' drinks at a very affordable price. Also, still produced by the Goslings, a family with a very interesting past.

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I love this for my Dark N Stormy's. You can do Myers' Dark, but it is not the same. I do like Old Lahaina Dark, but not as good as Gosling's. Any of the Bermuda ginger beers such as Gosling's, Barrit's, or Regatta are very good. However, if you want a little pop in your Dark N Stormy, try the Goya Jamaican ginger beer. It has a strong pepper taste and is very spicy.

Posted almost 4 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

The Moscow Mule(vodka and ginger beer/lime) seems to be trendy right now and they are good, but a friend made some " Dark and Stormy" drinks (Gosling's Black/ginger beer/lime) the other night and it made a great drink - better than the Moscow Mules for my taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 26 ratings

Gosling's Black Seal is a great black rum and is a 8. I have no problem with this one ty Bermuda. You have smooth and you have tradition. Nicely done and age to perfection in oak barrels.

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Gosling's has been a staple in the rum scene for generations. Not one of the standouts in pure flavor, but it has come to define what a black rum should be like. A must try for any self respecting rum enthusiast.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tommy from Australia with 15 ratings

A dark and stormy is just one of those drinks that you can never get tired of.

Posted 11 months ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

I bought this brand awhile ago after reading about the origins of the "Dark & Stormy". As call rum and good ginger ale is one of my favorites, thought I would give it a go. Not again even if you're buying. I've never tasted motor oil but have to say I think it would be something like this. I'll have to ask Dominic Greene. Also tried their canned ginger ale mixer, don't it's packed with corn fructose.

Posted about 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Makes a lovely dark n’ stormy. Has character and some spiciness, which makes the rum stand out in the cocktail, just as it should be.
Obviously not meant to be had neat, but curiosity got the best of me. The nose has cloves, cinnamon, orange-peel, wood and caramel, a composition reminding me of bitters, like fx. angostura aromatic. In the mouth I pick up the same fat and semi-sweet christmas notes mentioned above, and although a little harsh on the finish, it’s actually not bad neat. Remains a good value mixer though.

Posted almost 5 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

This is the rum I use for my dark 'n stormys. It does a great job, but also one I can sip on the rocks if I don't feel like a cocktail. I always have a bottle of this on hand,

Posted about 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

The obvious Dark n Stormy mixer, but nice with coke or ginger ale too. Smooth for an inexpensive rum. Plays well with sweeter mixes as well.

edited to add sugar test results- 11g

Posted over 7 years ago by AndyD603 from United States with 4 ratings

A very sweet dark. Usually drink this on the rocks with ice however it does fine with soda.

Posted 3 months ago by LordImmaFord from United States with 13 ratings

When I bartended I looked at this rum with contempt. All the hoity toits thought it was premiere but it really was a diaper full of hipster dreams. Liquor stores put it at the bottom of their shelves. Unless you live in a rich area in which case I'm sorry but your liquor store doesn't respect you. They think you're dumb enough with your money to buy Gosling's rum. There are so many better dark rums in this world. Don't waste your life on this.

Posted about 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Used Myers dark rum for years for mixer until my first dark and stormy in Key West. Still like Myers but this makes the dark and stormy especially if you like more dark than stormy. Molases sweet with bitters style back-note is perfect for this drink.

Posted about 3 years ago by Ddash from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

Great taste for reasonable price. Great taste for reasonable price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Phil from Switzerland with 15 ratings

Nichts Besonderes. Für meinen Geschmack zu starker cherry Abgang.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

I love full-bodied, dark rums with lots of flavor and this one fits the bill nicely. Chocolate and port wine come through with every sip. Beautiful color, too. Enjoy it neat. Live a little!

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 11 gpl. My first review of this rum was from my Rum and Coke days. Having moved away from that stage when this rum was a "headache in a bottle" I recently tried this in a Bermuda Twizzle and everyone loved it. I was not going to buy this rum again as a sipper, but as a mixer it is very good in mixed drinks such as Hurricanes, Mai Tais, Swizzles, etc. At $25 a bottle in Canada it is a great deal.

Posted over 7 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

need I say more? Goslings with bundaberg ginger beers or home made ginger beer is near perfect. Coruba is slighty better but cant take much away from Goslings except that they have a aggressive copyright policy and send letters to people who use the dns name without permission. So BOO and -3 points.

Posted 4 days ago by Reinfinity from United States with 10 ratings

This rum, along with Plantation OFTD will make one of the best hurricane's ever! Modeled after the original Pat O'Brien's Hurricane recipe, this rum is the perfect addition.

Posted 9 days ago by MerMama from United States with 21 ratings

I tried this neat, in a dark and stormy, and finally in a rum and coke, but I found it tasted "off" or sour. I love dark, treacly and/or bitter flavors, but I couldn't get into this. It starts off with a nice funky bite, but then fades into a sour, and therefore dour, flavor. Given its popularity, I will try again and see if I taste what everyone else is enjoying.

Posted 9 days ago by BvD25 from Netherlands with 6 ratings

This one is strong on the vanilla! It might not be the best of rums but it is amazing value for money and goes great with Dark and Stormy's of course!

Posted 22 days ago by jeffjp from United States with 6 ratings

Too many artificial colors and what not. Pass. There are better options for the same money.

Posted about 1 month ago by chuck from United States with 15 ratings

This is my go to black rum that doesn’t overwhelm other ingredients or rum when in a cocktail.

Posted about 1 month ago by gerben de lange from Aruba with 15 ratings

another rum that's great for mixing, one of my go to's when drinking rum coke, much preferred over the average bacardi, cap morgan (light,spice), havanna club offered in many places.