Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10
435 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
11
15
47
102
157
81
13
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

435 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Duder Maguder from United States with 3 ratings

I recently picked up a bottle on sale for $16. Let start off by saying, at that price this is a good rum.

The scent isn't anything special - it has the smell one associates with dark rum. The taste is good, but not great. I drank it neat and it is easily consumable that way, although I'm sure it would be much better in a mixed drink. It tastes of caramel and vanilla with a slight, short burn after swallowing.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

Here's one of my heroes! Great, unique rum that makes perfect 'Dark & Stormy' drinks at a very affordable price. Also, still produced by the Goslings, a family with a very interesting past.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I love this for my Dark N Stormy's. You can do Myers' Dark, but it is not the same. I do like Old Lahaina Dark, but not as good as Gosling's. Any of the Bermuda ginger beers such as Gosling's, Barrit's, or Regatta are very good. However, if you want a little pop in your Dark N Stormy, try the Goya Jamaican ginger beer. It has a strong pepper taste and is very spicy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

The Moscow Mule(vodka and ginger beer/lime) seems to be trendy right now and they are good, but a friend made some " Dark and Stormy" drinks (Gosling's Black/ginger beer/lime) the other night and it made a great drink - better than the Moscow Mules for my taste.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

Gosling's has been a staple in the rum scene for generations. Not one of the standouts in pure flavor, but it has come to define what a black rum should be like. A must try for any self respecting rum enthusiast.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 30 ratings

Gosling's Black Seal is a great black rum and is a 8. I have no problem with this one ty Bermuda. You have smooth and you have tradition. Nicely done and age to perfection in oak barrels.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by František Pavelka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Tento hodně tmavý rum nahořklé chuti se hodí spíše do míchaných nápojů než k normální konzumaci. Chuť je hodně nevyrovnaná.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

Makes a lovely dark n’ stormy. Has character and some spiciness, which makes the rum stand out in the cocktail, just as it should be.
Obviously not meant to be had neat, but curiosity got the best of me. The nose has cloves, cinnamon, orange-peel, wood and caramel, a composition reminding me of bitters, like fx. angostura aromatic. In the mouth I pick up the same fat and semi-sweet christmas notes mentioned above, and although a little harsh on the finish, it’s actually not bad neat. Remains a good value mixer though.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Tommy from Australia with 15 ratings

A dark and stormy is just one of those drinks that you can never get tired of.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by poosu from United States with 39 ratings

I'm a rum drinker for years. Just read a spy thriller where the hero was based in Bermuda and always drank Gosling's Black Seal. I didn't like Meyers so I was skeptical of this dark rum, but if it's good enough for Alex Hawke it might be OK. What a pleasant surprise. I'm an on the rocks guy. This is much better than Meyers. I smiled all the way through a 1.75 bottle. 8 might be a bit high but I want it on my good list for when I forget. I like the taste, it's smooth enough for the rocks and all this at a great price. I'm a firm believer that producing good ru at a low price deserves recognition. There are only 2 rums I give 8s to that are available in 1.75L. The other is Flor de Cana 7

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by LordImmaFord from United States with 16 ratings

When I bartended I looked at this rum with contempt. All the hoity toits thought it was premiere but it really was a diaper full of hipster dreams. Liquor stores put it at the bottom of their shelves. Unless you live in a rich area in which case I'm sorry but your liquor store doesn't respect you. They think you're dumb enough with your money to buy Gosling's rum. There are so many better dark rums in this world. Don't waste your life on this.