Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10
434 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
11
15
46
102
156
82
13
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


434 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 276 ratings

There is no better choice for a dark and stormy. Perfect pairing many fond memories solid 7 for this cocktail stand alone, have not found great place.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

A great dark rum for cocktails. Brings everything up a notch just by using instead of "regular" dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

If you like dark & stormys with Myers you'll like Black Seal. Very similar.....not anything I'd drink neat or without a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Giuseppe from Italy with 33 ratings

english style, a final persistent, smooth....

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

Expected more from Bermuda's oldest rum. Bit to harsh and dry for my sipping taste. I would only use it in mixed drinks. A 6 for me.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

Black Seal is a great all around rum for mixing and reasonably priced. Great in a Dark 'N Stormy. I like it better than Myers dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

Nice balance of sweet, funk, and molasses. Although this is not supposed to be a spiced rum, it could pass for a very good one. My favorite mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

On the smell we can find some vanilla and fruit (close to plum smell) and the taste is similare.

Not a great rum but a nice one and better for mixed drinks.

ps: the 1st bottle I buy (and drink) had a mono smell and taste of liquorice. I don't know if the flavor change alot from each bottle or not.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by james peters from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

This is the prefect rum for someone to move on to from the standard rums out there (think of Lamb's etc etc). It works well straight up, on the rocks on mixed and doesn't break the bank

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Way too molasses-y and not well rounded. Leaves a kind of sticky residue in your mouth. Good dark fruit flavor though. Will not buy again.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Initially there are enticing aromas of caramel and burnt sugar. There is also an almost fruity sweetness that reminds me of baked apples which is followed by warm caramel. The rum is not too sweet. I can taste caramel, burnt sugar and butterscotch with just a tiny hint of bitterness. The rum is quite dry with a light spice. A must for mixing with ginger beer.