Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10
430 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
11
15
45
101
156
80
13
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

430 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 21 ratings

folks over at gosling's were smart to trademark the dark and stormy to market their rum because this artificially flavoured rum is mediocre at best.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

Black Seal is a great all around rum for mixing and reasonably priced. Great in a Dark 'N Stormy. I like it better than Myers dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

Nice balance of sweet, funk, and molasses. Although this is not supposed to be a spiced rum, it could pass for a very good one. My favorite mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

On the smell we can find some vanilla and fruit (close to plum smell) and the taste is similare.

Not a great rum but a nice one and better for mixed drinks.

ps: the 1st bottle I buy (and drink) had a mono smell and taste of liquorice. I don't know if the flavor change alot from each bottle or not.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by james peters from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

This is the prefect rum for someone to move on to from the standard rums out there (think of Lamb's etc etc). It works well straight up, on the rocks on mixed and doesn't break the bank

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Way too molasses-y and not well rounded. Leaves a kind of sticky residue in your mouth. Good dark fruit flavor though. Will not buy again.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Initially there are enticing aromas of caramel and burnt sugar. There is also an almost fruity sweetness that reminds me of baked apples which is followed by warm caramel. The rum is not too sweet. I can taste caramel, burnt sugar and butterscotch with just a tiny hint of bitterness. The rum is quite dry with a light spice. A must for mixing with ginger beer.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : Dark mahogany
Flavour : Treacle, ripped fruits, spices like caramel & cumin, toffee
Palate : Soft & gentle but rich, clean finish

It's THE rum to use to do a Dark n' Stormy (official Bermuda drink), a must to have in your cabinet...

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Papa Bear from Canada with 15 ratings

This is my go to rum for mixing with cola.....but only a splash of coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Lest there be any doubt, this is for a Dark & Stormy. That's about it. Too prominent a flavor for anything else.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Chris from United States with 27 ratings

Full and smooth a keeper