Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10
430 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
11
15
45
101
156
80
13
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

430 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 21 ratings

folks over at gosling's were smart to trademark the dark and stormy to market their rum because this artificially flavoured rum is mediocre at best.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

Great rum with smooth flavour not a special rum but one that you need in your collection. A weekend afternoon drink on the deck.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

As everyone else has said this is best for the dark and stormy, and it does that very well. One of my favorite cocktails. reevaluated and I had to give it one more point compared to the other dark rums I have had recently

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

Bought this to make authentic Dark & Stormy's and to that end this does not disappoint. Do not, however, recommend as a rocks or neat rum. A bit harsh for that.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Sickly sweet and no depth. It burns no via alcohol but by acidity. Ok for mixing I guess but there are far better rums at this price point (27 Canadian).

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

I tried making a dark and stormy with ginger beer and I couldn't finish it - just too strong. I thought it might be the beer, but then I mixed it with Kracken and it was much better. It just has too much of a bitter bite for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Bruges kun til Dark N' Stormy, men der er den også god.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Phil from United States with 1 rating

Dark n Stormies are great crisp summer beverage!!
Also, made a double chocolate rum cake which was delicious.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by CaptainRon from United States with 5 ratings

This is a good rum for mixers or in a rum cake

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

This is another one of those rums where taste is not a factor of price. This rum works in a cocktail as well as in the glass with a big rock to open things up a bit. In one of my recent tastings this rum can in tied with my Pillar's rum that cost much more. This bottle has a place on my mixing shelf and sometimes, I use it for a cheap date with an ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by LiquidBrass from United States with 8 ratings

This rum was my first introduction to rums that could be enjoyed straight, with no mixers to mask the already excellent flavor. Black Seal is very smooth. A great introduction to the world of rum.