Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10 (402 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
10
14
41
94
148
74
11
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


402 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

It is what it is. The classic black rum. I feel that they may be losing their traditional style to a more corporate polished product but it's still delicious. Dark and stormy with this is a must try for any rum enthusiast. They pretty much invented that drink.

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Makes the best Dark & Stormy. Not on my sipping list. Unique heavy flavor mixes well, and you can still get a nice rum taste.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by aelamari1 from United States with 2 ratings

Not the greatest, but a good rum for the price. Decent by itself and great for mixing. Definitely recommend.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by oedelpino from United States with 17 ratings

This is a workhorse, affordable cocktail rum for your dark and stormy and other staples

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

I like this, it is flavoured so not like OVD, Lambs, etc. . I drink my Rum neat and and this one just squeezed in to that category. I prefer this one to Myers and Blackwell.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Tab Bonidy from United States with 5 ratings

This is the best rum to add mixers to giving you a wonderful dark rum flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by thechosen21 from United Kingdom with 24 ratings

Thanks to the Gosling's Black Seal I found out that I do not like black rum. I would suggest drinking it with a mixer (i.e. ginger beer) to make it smoother.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by DougDoesNotCare from United States with 38 ratings

This is kinda two-note with lots of molasses and vanilla notes. Definitely more of a mixer than a sipper, but it works well in cocktails. Not sure I would put it above Blackwell's Black Gold though.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 206 ratings

There is no better choice for a dark and stormy. Perfect pairing many fond memories solid 7 for this cocktail stand alone, have not found great place.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

Good one to have on hand for certain tiki-adjacent concoctions. I grab it when I’m temporarily unable to locate a bottle of Coruba dark. As John Prine said...
Pretty good.
Not bad.
I can’t complain.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

This one is all round, balanced dark rum, aroma is strong, with molasses and some esters, the taste is semi sweet, spicy, fruity, but not especially complex, there is a distinctive aftertaste of licorice turning towards bitter, but not unpleasant. This rum is smooth enough to drink it neat, but with a rather uncomplicated taste it is not its main discipline. In the mixed drinks this is a star.