Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10
430 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
11
15
45
101
156
80
13
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

430 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 21 ratings

folks over at gosling's were smart to trademark the dark and stormy to market their rum because this artificially flavoured rum is mediocre at best.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Dcorn1973 from United States with 8 ratings

This is not the best rum in the barrel but it's not the worst. Not a sipper but good for mixing. I doubt I ever buy a bottle again, but the idea of to try different rums and experience the world.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by LRWOZ from Australia with 1 rating

I like black rums. I like the rums (and whiskeys) that have a bit aging to them to the character of the oak and the barrel’s predecessors in the flavour and finish. Gosfords Black Seal is one I keep on hand for sipping and the off Dark & Stormy for my wife. What I particularly like about for drinking neat, molasses. You can taste it’s roots. Rum is not port, sherry, bourbon or others, and while their old barrels add a layer of complexity, what I get on the finish with Goslings is a memory of its dark treacly base that reminds me this bad boy came from sugar cane. Really like it. Is it as complex as Bundy Solera or an old Plantation? But for what it is, it’s bloody good. A Proper Rum Portion matey.....

Small 20210101 013939

Posted 5 months ago by RumBech from Denmark with 14 ratings

Great with Ginger beer 🍺
Perfect as a cocktail................

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 354 ratings

Ve vůni i v chutí převažuje typické Goslings koření, karamel, částečně nasládlé, příjemné překvapení poměr cena výkon

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Hot_Toddy (PREMIUM) from United States with 13 ratings

This is a proper dark. A step up from Myers and Kraken, but a step down from Hamilton Jamaican Pot Still. Good taste and value, not too hard to find, either.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by jbuckhead from United States with 11 ratings

Appearance dark brownish red. Nice green around the edges from the aging. Initially smells like curry, with lime and vanilla. Tastes sweet and caramely with a hint of maple syrup. Lime comes through on the initial finish, transitioning to something more bitter on the lingering finish. Also tastes bit of tobacco on the finish, which gets stronger the more I drink. Slight creamy mouthfeel. Overall not bad for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Costas T from Greece with 1 rating

Great Rum for cockteila like "dark & shadow", I just love this Rum.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by dragon from Slovenia with 26 ratings

Taste from far, far away island of Bermuda this is something special for me. I love it! Like reak Rum to speak so. Tried it in "Dark & Stormy" and that was a drink like very good medicine for me. Just a bit to sweet for the moment, I belive next one will suit even more. Will update after second try...
Recommend!

Ffffff

Posted at Ted's Montana Grill 11 months ago by MangoCats from United States with 1 rating

Unlike a Bacardi that brashly announces its presence, and overstates its strength, the Black Seal mixes quietly into a drink, adding a bit of sweetness to the flavor. Smooth enough to sip, excellent to mix, and most importantly: does not bring on a hangover the way that the more harsh rums will.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by jeffjp from United States with 6 ratings

Too many artificial colors and what not. Pass. There are better options for the same money.