Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10 (413 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
10
14
42
98
151
77
11
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

413 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Sgt. Rook from United States with 20 ratings

This is my go to for a dark floater, perfect floater for a painkiller

Small 20210101 013939

Posted 3 months ago by RumBech from Denmark with 14 ratings

Great with Ginger beer 🍺
Perfect as a cocktail................

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 329 ratings

Ve vůni i v chutí převažuje typické Goslings koření, karamel, částečně nasládlé, příjemné překvapení poměr cena výkon

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Hot_Toddy (PREMIUM) from United States with 13 ratings

This is a proper dark. A step up from Myers and Kraken, but a step down from Hamilton Jamaican Pot Still. Good taste and value, not too hard to find, either.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by jbuckhead from United States with 11 ratings

Appearance dark brownish red. Nice green around the edges from the aging. Initially smells like curry, with lime and vanilla. Tastes sweet and caramely with a hint of maple syrup. Lime comes through on the initial finish, transitioning to something more bitter on the lingering finish. Also tastes bit of tobacco on the finish, which gets stronger the more I drink. Slight creamy mouthfeel. Overall not bad for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Costas T from Greece with 1 rating

Great Rum for cockteila like "dark & shadow", I just love this Rum.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by dragon from Slovenia with 19 ratings

Taste from far, far away island of Bermuda this is something special for me. I love it! Like reak Rum to speak so. Tried it in "Dark & Stormy" and that was a drink like very good medicine for me. Just a bit to sweet for the moment, I belive next one will suit even more. Will update after second try...
Recommend!

Ffffff

Posted at Ted's Montana Grill 8 months ago by MangoCats from United States with 1 rating

Unlike a Bacardi that brashly announces its presence, and overstates its strength, the Black Seal mixes quietly into a drink, adding a bit of sweetness to the flavor. Smooth enough to sip, excellent to mix, and most importantly: does not bring on a hangover the way that the more harsh rums will.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by jeffjp from United States with 6 ratings

Too many artificial colors and what not. Pass. There are better options for the same money.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 49 ratings

Used Myers dark rum for years for mixer until my first dark and stormy in Key West. Still like Myers but this makes the dark and stormy especially if you like more dark than stormy. Molases sweet with bitters style back-note is perfect for this drink.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ddash from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

Great taste for reasonable price. Great taste for reasonable price.