Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.6/10 (370 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
10
12
36
83
142
68
11
4

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


370 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 84 ratings

Made my first ever batch of aged eggnog (made 3 gallons!) and used this as the rum. The final product was phenomenal!

5ca2462f9b87f4e482b56b5d8086bdfd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 days ago by blowpez from United States with 4 ratings

The perfect black rum for cocktails. Contrary to popular belief this rum is delicious standing alone as well. Will always have this on my bar cart from now on.

Aa5eddef0abeae24fc4238c0f72def7f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 days ago by Alexvid from United States with 4 ratings

Smooth, but a different flavor than I prefer. Great value though 17.99

A475abc0bf89ea0cc93330f4383d322f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 days ago by PirateKristen from United States with 18 ratings

Great for the price point and awesome in cocktails! Cannot complain about this and the cute seal on the label too!

B76d352cc131359b8b42dbbdce7d64ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 29 days ago by RumJunkie from United States with 19 ratings

Solid rum for mixing and the only one I’ll use for a dark & stormy. This is not a sipping rum for my taste. Great molasses nose but heavy alcohol all the way down when sipped neat.

17244066c59ae18b934a356f130e728c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

OK. Good for dark and stormy cocktails. But as a stand alone rum?? Without those other ingredients the rum alone is just dark........and tasteless......sort of a "dark and I don't want to drink any more". No thank you! This stuff is not up to par. Full stop.

D17280f428169749553cbe4c7cdcc803.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by toonstormm from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Worked well for what I wanted which was an affordable accompaniment to coke. Tasted great but a little bit of heartburn followed. Overall though I’m looking forward to the rest of the bottle!

83701e0d47139d5221355a59af2fc597.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by MorowinZ from United States with 18 ratings

If you want a cheap, easy, black strap rum this is a pretty good choice! Best in a dark and stormy.

0f85857996e23c21d83488d7582e6488.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by jackw625 from United States with 22 ratings

Great rum for the price. Strong hints if black cherry

208cde3128aac2a6af14f7138d4868ef.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Reinfinity from United States with 10 ratings

This rum, along with Plantation OFTD will make one of the best hurricane's ever! Modeled after the original Pat O'Brien's Hurricane recipe, this rum is the perfect addition.

01673de0c533257ddb1a7104fed681f7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by MerMama from United States with 23 ratings

I tried this neat, in a dark and stormy, and finally in a rum and coke, but I found it tasted "off" or sour. I love dark, treacly and/or bitter flavors, but I couldn't get into this. It starts off with a nice funky bite, but then fades into a sour, and therefore dour, flavor. Given its popularity, I will try again and see if I taste what everyone else is enjoying.