Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10 (402 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
10
14
41
94
148
74
11
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


402 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

I heard they won the court case, making Gosling's the only way to make a genuine Dark n Stormy. Of course you can use other dark rums. Not only will it not be a real Dark n Stormy, it won't taste as good. Other dark rums work, just not as well, at least what a Dark n Stormy does for you. Another great thing about this rum is its price.

Ffffff

Posted at Ted's Montana Grill 6 months ago by MangoCats from United States with 1 rating

Unlike a Bacardi that brashly announces its presence, and overstates its strength, the Black Seal mixes quietly into a drink, adding a bit of sweetness to the flavor. Smooth enough to sip, excellent to mix, and most importantly: does not bring on a hangover the way that the more harsh rums will.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by jeffjp from United States with 6 ratings

Too many artificial colors and what not. Pass. There are better options for the same money.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 48 ratings

Used Myers dark rum for years for mixer until my first dark and stormy in Key West. Still like Myers but this makes the dark and stormy especially if you like more dark than stormy. Molases sweet with bitters style back-note is perfect for this drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ddash from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

Great taste for reasonable price. Great taste for reasonable price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Phil from Switzerland with 15 ratings

Nichts Besonderes. Für meinen Geschmack zu starker cherry Abgang.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

I love full-bodied, dark rums with lots of flavor and this one fits the bill nicely. Chocolate and port wine come through with every sip. Beautiful color, too. Enjoy it neat. Live a little!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 198 ratings

Sugar: 11 gpl. My first review of this rum was from my Rum and Coke days. Having moved away from that stage when this rum was a "headache in a bottle" I recently tried this in a Bermuda Twizzle and everyone loved it. I was not going to buy this rum again as a sipper, but as a mixer it is very good in mixed drinks such as Hurricanes, Mai Tais, Swizzles, etc. At $25 a bottle in Canada it is a great deal.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

need I say more? Goslings with bundaberg ginger beers or home made ginger beer is near perfect. Coruba is slighty better but cant take much away from Goslings except that they have a aggressive copyright policy and send letters to people who use the dns name without permission. So BOO and -3 points.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by TheRealMojito from United States with 8 ratings

Just follow the instructions on the bottle. Makes a great Dark ‘n Stormy.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

Not interesting for sipping, as a part of coctails ok.