Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10
430 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
11
15
45
101
156
80
13
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

430 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 21 ratings

folks over at gosling's were smart to trademark the dark and stormy to market their rum because this artificially flavoured rum is mediocre at best.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

Makes a lovely dark n’ stormy. Has character and some spiciness, which makes the rum stand out in the cocktail, just as it should be.
Obviously not meant to be had neat, but curiosity got the best of me. The nose has cloves, cinnamon, orange-peel, wood and caramel, a composition reminding me of bitters, like fx. angostura aromatic. In the mouth I pick up the same fat and semi-sweet christmas notes mentioned above, and although a little harsh on the finish, it’s actually not bad neat. Remains a good value mixer though.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

This is the rum I use for my dark 'n stormys. It does a great job, but also one I can sip on the rocks if I don't feel like a cocktail. I always have a bottle of this on hand,

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 11 gpl. My first review of this rum was from my Rum and Coke days. Having moved away from that stage when this rum was a "headache in a bottle" I recently tried this in a Bermuda Twizzle and everyone loved it. I was not going to buy this rum again as a sipper, but as a mixer it is very good in mixed drinks such as Hurricanes, Mai Tais, Swizzles, etc. At $25 a bottle in Canada it is a great deal.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

The obvious Dark n Stormy mixer, but nice with coke or ginger ale too. Smooth for an inexpensive rum. Plays well with sweeter mixes as well.

edited to add sugar test results- 11g

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by AndyD603 from United States with 4 ratings

A very sweet dark. Usually drink this on the rocks with ice however it does fine with soda.

Ffffff

Posted 6 days ago by Weglin from Poland with 10 ratings

Porządny karaibski rum do drinków. Ciężki czuc słodyc. Nie jest to rum do degustacji lecz smakuje porządnie. Dużo lepszy od podstawowych pozycji.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Bnballison2 from United States with 4 ratings

Nice aroma, robust, I like the lasting mouth feel, a great black rum, nice for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Bluegoose from New Zealand with 9 ratings

Just got this to give the original dark and stormy a go. Quite nice

Small 621e696e 569f 4f12 a55a b39bbb717650

Posted 4 months ago by geroji from United States with 26 ratings

Probably makes a decent mixer and not super pleasant sipped. It’s a good introduction rum, so and it does have a decent flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 41 ratings

I know that this is the official rum for a Dark and Stormy. Usually pass over this rum in favor of others, but pickings were slim at the store so I gave it a try.
It is great in a Dark and Stormy, but also a decent sipper neat. Used it for rum balls too yum.