Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10
452 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
13
16
49
104
164
83
14
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

452 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 2020 05 01

Posted almost 7 years ago by m keating from United States with 34 ratings

It's not as dark as one might think. I expected something black and heavy but the appearance really did reflect the experience. That is to say, a little thick/creamy with mostly caramel and a hint of molasses, some spice at the finish. A little too astringent as it is rather acidic, drier and although highly recommended with ginger beer, I preferred it on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

I bought this brand awhile ago after reading about the origins of the "Dark & Stormy". As call rum and good ginger ale is one of my favorites, thought I would give it a go. Not again even if you're buying. I've never tasted motor oil but have to say I think it would be something like this. I'll have to ask Dominic Greene. Also tried their canned ginger ale mixer, don't it's packed with corn fructose.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

This is the rum I use for my dark 'n stormys. It does a great job, but also one I can sip on the rocks if I don't feel like a cocktail. I always have a bottle of this on hand,

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 11 gpl. My first review of this rum was from my Rum and Coke days. Having moved away from that stage when this rum was a "headache in a bottle" I recently tried this in a Bermuda Twizzle and everyone loved it. I was not going to buy this rum again as a sipper, but as a mixer it is very good in mixed drinks such as Hurricanes, Mai Tais, Swizzles, etc. At $25 a bottle in Canada it is a great deal.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

The obvious Dark n Stormy mixer, but nice with coke or ginger ale too. Smooth for an inexpensive rum. Plays well with sweeter mixes as well.

edited to add sugar test results- 11g

Ffffff

Posted 9 years ago by AndyD603 from United States with 4 ratings

A very sweet dark. Usually drink this on the rocks with ice however it does fine with soda.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Rip from Canada with 8 ratings

It’s an ok rum as a mixer, I’ll give it credit for that. Definitely had that dark rum molasses flavour profile. FDC 5year is a similar price and better as a mixer in my opinion.
Most of the higher rated rums on this app are for higher quality and often more expensive ‘sippers’. This rum is not a ‘sipper’, but will be just fine for many to mix with their preferred drink.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Weglin from Poland with 15 ratings

Porządny karaibski rum do drinków. Ciężki czuc słodyc. Nie jest to rum do degustacji lecz smakuje porządnie. Dużo lepszy od podstawowych pozycji.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Bnballison2 from United States with 4 ratings

Nice aroma, robust, I like the lasting mouth feel, a great black rum, nice for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Bluegoose from New Zealand with 9 ratings

Just got this to give the original dark and stormy a go. Quite nice

Small 621e696e 569f 4f12 a55a b39bbb717650

Posted 9 months ago by geroji from United States with 26 ratings

Probably makes a decent mixer and not super pleasant sipped. It’s a good introduction rum, so and it does have a decent flavor.