Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10 (413 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
10
14
42
98
151
77
11
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

413 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by i3moore from United States with 4 ratings

I just buy it for that and it does the job for my go to easy drink. Burning, bit harsh on its own.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 246 ratings

Makes a lovely dark n’ stormy. Has character and some spiciness, which makes the rum stand out in the cocktail, just as it should be.
Obviously not meant to be had neat, but curiosity got the best of me. The nose has cloves, cinnamon, orange-peel, wood and caramel, a composition reminding me of bitters, like fx. angostura aromatic. In the mouth I pick up the same fat and semi-sweet christmas notes mentioned above, and although a little harsh on the finish, it’s actually not bad neat. Remains a good value mixer though.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

This is the rum I use for my dark 'n stormys. It does a great job, but also one I can sip on the rocks if I don't feel like a cocktail. I always have a bottle of this on hand,

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

The obvious Dark n Stormy mixer, but nice with coke or ginger ale too. Smooth for an inexpensive rum. Plays well with sweeter mixes as well.

edited to add sugar test results- 11g

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by AndyD603 from United States with 4 ratings

A very sweet dark. Usually drink this on the rocks with ice however it does fine with soda.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by Bnballison2 from United States with 4 ratings

Nice aroma, robust, I like the lasting mouth feel, a great black rum, nice for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by Bluegoose from New Zealand with 9 ratings

Just got this to give the original dark and stormy a go. Quite nice

Small 621e696e 569f 4f12 a55a b39bbb717650

Posted 26 days ago by geroji from United States with 26 ratings

Probably makes a decent mixer and not super pleasant sipped. It’s a good introduction rum, so and it does have a decent flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Djgross144 from United States with 41 ratings

I know that this is the official rum for a Dark and Stormy. Usually pass over this rum in favor of others, but pickings were slim at the store so I gave it a try.
It is great in a Dark and Stormy, but also a decent sipper neat. Used it for rum balls too yum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Dcorn1973 from United States with 8 ratings

This is not the best rum in the barrel but it's not the worst. Not a sipper but good for mixing. I doubt I ever buy a bottle again, but the idea of to try different rums and experience the world.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by LRWOZ from Australia with 1 rating

I like black rums. I like the rums (and whiskeys) that have a bit aging to them to the character of the oak and the barrel’s predecessors in the flavour and finish. Gosfords Black Seal is one I keep on hand for sipping and the off Dark & Stormy for my wife. What I particularly like about for drinking neat, molasses. You can taste it’s roots. Rum is not port, sherry, bourbon or others, and while their old barrels add a layer of complexity, what I get on the finish with Goslings is a memory of its dark treacly base that reminds me this bad boy came from sugar cane. Really like it. Is it as complex as Bundy Solera or an old Plantation? But for what it is, it’s bloody good. A Proper Rum Portion matey.....