Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.6/10 (386 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
10
14
38
89
143
71
11
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


386 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Made my first ever batch of aged eggnog (made 3 gallons!) and used this as the rum. The final product was phenomenal!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

This is the rum I use for my dark 'n stormys. It does a great job, but also one I can sip on the rocks if I don't feel like a cocktail. I always have a bottle of this on hand,

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

The obvious Dark n Stormy mixer, but nice with coke or ginger ale too. Smooth for an inexpensive rum. Plays well with sweeter mixes as well.

edited to add sugar test results- 11g

Ffffff

Posted about 8 years ago by AndyD603 from United States with 4 ratings

A very sweet dark. Usually drink this on the rocks with ice however it does fine with soda.

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by Costas T from Greece with 1 rating

Great Rum for cockteila like "dark & shadow", I just love this Rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by dragon from Slovenia with 18 ratings

Taste from far, far away island of Bermuda this is something special for me. I love it! Like reak Rum to speak so. Tried it in "Dark & Stormy" and that was a drink like very good medicine for me. Just a bit to sweet for the moment, I belive next one will suit even more. Will update after second try...
Recommend!

Ffffff

Posted at Ted's Montana Grill 4 months ago by MangoCats from United States with 1 rating

Unlike a Bacardi that brashly announces its presence, and overstates its strength, the Black Seal mixes quietly into a drink, adding a bit of sweetness to the flavor. Smooth enough to sip, excellent to mix, and most importantly: does not bring on a hangover the way that the more harsh rums will.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by jeffjp from United States with 6 ratings

Too many artificial colors and what not. Pass. There are better options for the same money.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Used Myers dark rum for years for mixer until my first dark and stormy in Key West. Still like Myers but this makes the dark and stormy especially if you like more dark than stormy. Molases sweet with bitters style back-note is perfect for this drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ddash from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

Great taste for reasonable price. Great taste for reasonable price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Phil from Switzerland with 15 ratings

Nichts Besonderes. Für meinen Geschmack zu starker cherry Abgang.