Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10 (402 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
10
14
41
94
148
74
11
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


402 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by i3moore from United States with 4 ratings

I just buy it for that and it does the job for my go to easy drink. Burning, bit harsh on its own.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Ubernewt from Canada with 10 ratings

Spicy yet sweet, with a little burn that mellows out this is a great dark rum for mixing!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by James from United States with 14 ratings

Just wanted the bottle for my collection. Have had it before won't by it again.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by McKayGrp from Canada with 3 ratings

I like black rums so I would say it is worth a try on ice when the standards aren't available, but I wouldn't enjoy it that much if it was neat.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by CountCoconut from Canada with 1 rating

Dark, smooth and a staple for any serious rum bar. This is a baseline for comparing other runs. A very old and time tested rum. Great on the rocks and good for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Logoscripto from Greece with 12 ratings

it was ok at taste but a prettier bottle would be nice. sometimes the image adds to the taste.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

I give it a weak 7 rating. It's quite good in a dark & stormy or with tonic. Its taste is unique, but not totally likeable on its own. I am glad to see this rum on more and more bar and restaurant shelves. However too often it is the only dark rum offered.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by pmcl from Canada with 7 ratings

I’m always on the lookout for a new sipping rum and read somewhere that this could stand on its own. No. Just...no.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Chef Bobo from Sweden with 19 ratings

Pleasant and surperisingly light rum to be so dark.
Not over sweet and the No 1 rum for your Dark'n stormy.
Rich in flavour with molasses sweet finnish

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Ash B from Netherlands with 11 ratings

I would not recommend this to drink pure. Mix with your favo soda,

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Vinesh from Netherlands with 19 ratings

This was not a good way to end our great rum tasting evening!