Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10 (402 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
10
14
41
94
148
74
11
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


402 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Sgt. Rook from United States with 20 ratings

This is my go to for a dark floater, perfect floater for a painkiller

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 71 ratings

Didn’t know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. Great nose full of subtle spice and vanilla. It is a bit of a thicker drink, has a somewhat syrupy texture, however the flavor makes up for it. It is sweet at the start, however the other spices quickly follow for a full, well bodied drink. Worth giving it a chance.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

A must have dark rum to make the classic rum highball cocktail: the Dark & Stormy. Goslings Black Seal is in fact the only rum (by law) which can be used in a menu which offers a Dark & Stormy cocktail by name.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

Hard to straight up, too spicy and too strong taste for me.
Maybe this is good for mixer, but I do not drink cocktail, sorry.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

Standard dark rum used for some cocktails. Hints of strong molasses but not really any complexity or depth beyond that. Strong alcohol burn despite 80 proof. No real merits aside from mixing if necessary

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by bill patterson from United States with 2 ratings

A really solid rum. Not too sweet. I could drink this every day.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 55 ratings

I bought this only to try a “ authentic dark & stormy”, and have to say I’m not disappointed.
It’s a full bodied rum that probably shines as a mixer, not only with ginger beer.
Tried it neat, lots of fruity tones, but really can’t say it’s a rum to savour by itself.
Does a job,
Cheers graham.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

This rum is good but for the money I won’t buy it again.
Although there is a fair bit of depth and some complexity here It is just a bit too rough around the edges to really make me want to sip it neat and when it comes to mixing a dark and stormy i never feel like it is as good as Coruba who’s heavier licorice flavour and bitter finish really make that drink sing for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumncoke from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Love it. Strong almost Christmas cake flavoured rum.Unique and recognisable flavour.Preffered it withcola rather than the suggested ginger beer.
If it's winter then Gosling's is great

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by cocacola99 from Canada with 20 ratings

2 years ago ...at a fabulous steakhouse....in the bar ,very HOT , being July ...bartender asks ....would you like a Dark n Stormy ....okay , never had one ...finally went to our table with about 3 of the D and S in me ..WOW !!
I became a GOSLING black rum fan in s matter of moments ....
I bought a bottle since ....I LIKED it a lot , there are better rums out there...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by 5691Aa (PREMIUM) from United States with 29 ratings

Nice molasses finish, great for mixing, good on the rocks. Not too pretentious