Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


367 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 84 ratings

Made my first ever batch of aged eggnog (made 3 gallons!) and used this as the rum. The final product was phenomenal!

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Not quite an 8 but decent sipper and great with coke.

2c103e821d2f3d1f8f8d20bcd1cb0e4d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a bottle of Goslings Black Seal (£23) after reading an article about the brand and checking the reviews on here.

Poured a bit over ice to sample and I must say I'm pleasantly surprised on its sippability. Nose is nutty, caramel, and slightly fruity. It's remarkably smooth and not overly sweetened, for its price and bottling although is a little ethanol burn which is expected.

The article I read was all about making the perfect dark'n'stormy and that this rum was the perfect pairing partner for ginger ale (it did recommend goslings ginger beer but it's difficult to get hold of here).

I do find it nicer to sip than to mix with ginger beer, and find it's better to mix with cola.

(EDIT: after moving through the bottle and trying with various mixers I find this is a good cola mixing rum am yet to find a ginger ale fiery enough to pair with it. Although smooth over ice I find it a little harsh on the throat clean in the glass with time to breath. Over ice it's an ok sipper without it is not. As a result I've had to bring it down to a 6 would have been a 5 but at £23 it makes a good rum and coke)

B46a244c578b8d3b67e5fb1ce79c70cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Tamara from Netherlands with 18 ratings

I like this one, its the perfect mix rum.
Its very smooth and sweet (but not too).
Great price also.

1567cd0c6f783445408f29fa4c18d800.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Används i princip bara till en fantastisk dark n stormy. Perfekt rom med smak av lite lakrits, vanilj och arrak. Men används bara till dark n stormy för min del.

8493b96b8061fc64b410647422aa1af2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Ales from Czech Republic with 54 ratings

Tmavý rum s barvou dočervena. Zastřená, kouřová vůně dřeva.
Chuť karamel, doutník.

46dbc9814785c3227eff81c114fd4c16.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Wiebster from Canada with 3 ratings

I can sip this. But I think I taste something other than rum. Not that this extra taste is disagreeable.

0f4eb853ff6f8c39d3284e4733c1c534.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Katie from Curaçao with 1 rating

Perfect to mix in cocktails, but It also does taste just fine on it own.

C4e066d80d270a85b669b69b65c72dc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Brandon from United States with 10 ratings

Upon first taste of this rum it was clear that this had to mixed to be even slightly enjoyable. while dark n stormy with this rum is seemingly a fan favorite I was not a fan. Black Kraken is a much better mixer than this even though it's cheaper.

92b6cd0d9a6848f27814658a06db5832.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

It's a fine product. For my taste it's a bit too molassy and oily but the as the posts above says, it's the best for Dark N Stormy.

745483ee861a95d9dcc511a3fde51598.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Lauri Heikkilä from Finland with 3 ratings

Goslings has quite spicy flavor and has hints of anis flavor in it. In my opinion gosling is ok for cocktails but not a sipper. This should be obvious. If I would choose a mixer, I would select kraken over this.