Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10 (411 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
10
14
42
98
149
77
11
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

411 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ghandimaster from CZ with 29 ratings

This is quite distingtive rum even in Black category. Deep flavour of molases with dark soily scents. It is quite serious and dry personality among rich black rums. Autumn liquore.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by wolfpack21643 from United States with 16 ratings

Works well in a lot of Tiki drinks. Recommended if your going this route.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Drewbacca from United States with 15 ratings

If you need something cheap for making a Dark n Stormy, this is probably the best you'll do. A couple more bucks will get you to Meyer's. I wouldn't use this for much else other than a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

It might be cheap, but this is the molasses based spirit I hope for.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

You know what this is good for. Yep adding it to ginger beer "Goslings Gingerbeer" But when I drank it neat, it had a good aroma, with some good flavors expanding as you drink it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ElPato from Norway with 27 ratings

Tasting such a staple rum for the first time in a couple of decades did not trigger expectations. But this is an overall unique experience that is hard for me to compare to any other products. In general: It looks and tastes of dark treacle but is lifted by a couple of layers of fruit and barrel that makes it surprisingly refreshing and elegant for being in the middle tier of standard rums. Pleasant aftertaste too.

Nose: Medium dark treacle, simply — burnt sugar, hint of floral sugar cane and oak.

Palate: A distinct taste of treacle is refreshed by a funky bass line (baseline if you must) of fruit that suggest pot still distillation with some esters present in the mash. A mild hint of banana, citrus and pineapple that I find quite a successful balancing act up against the distinct taste of oaky treacle.

Aftertaste: Pleasant aftertaste with a slight presence of caramel and ginger that makes it easy to associate with ginger ale in a Dark and Stormy.

Good value for the money, and quite some personality you remember. This is something I will certainly sip every now and then. Not often, but all in all a rum you will come back to. Perhaps later than sooner, but you will come back.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 120 ratings

Black as the ace of spades and very beautiful to drink, one for my cabinet

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

This rum serves a special place in the collection! It's the base for a Dark'N'Stormy cocktail and really can't be beaten for that. It's rotten for anything else.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

I've been enjoying Black Seal for some years. As with most I first had in a Dark and Stormy, but it's so much more!

I find it's a great mixing rum to blend with other rums in exotic cocktails to create some complexity and a nice depth of rum flavor. Pleasing smooth aroma of sweet molasses and caramel, some alcohol and vanilla as well. Nice flavor of molasses with hints of vanilla and caramel. Not hot but pleasantly warm. Smooth medium finish lingers nicely. A really good rum at a price that's hard to argue with.

This is a highly recommended rum to those that enjoy experimenting with different rum blends and for trying a different rum in mixed cocktails that you've always enjoyed but that you may be looking for a little tweak to.

I also enjoy pouring a couple of ounces in a snifter and sipping neat once in a while. It's a pleasant rum with plenty of flavor to enjoy and smooth on the palate. It's not a world class sipper but it is an all around good rum that's agreeable to many uses. Not an 8 but better than a 7 in my mind, I give it a solid 7.5. Enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Lambertini from United States with 1 rating

Consistently Good, Gosling's Black Seal Rum has been a favorite for Many years. versatile to a fault, it is used in cooking, baking, as a flavor enhancer, in cocktails or on it's own straight or 'on-the-rocks'... It' has a wonderfully aromatic and almost flowery/spice sweet smell, doesn't easily corrupt with heat and withstands the blends of additional juices and liquors to retain it's own unique signature. It's is a delight among Locals and a revelation to 'nubies'... Not quite the complexity of the Family reserve but Still a solid choice for a standard GOOD & tasty Rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 76 ratings

Didn’t know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. Great nose full of subtle spice and vanilla. It is a bit of a thicker drink, has a somewhat syrupy texture, however the flavor makes up for it. It is sweet at the start, however the other spices quickly follow for a full, well bodied drink. Worth giving it a chance.