Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10
442 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
12
16
48
102
160
82
13
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

442 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Reddew from United States with 53 ratings

Obviously everyone uses this for dark n' stormy's but I have had it in coke and neat. Like it in both ways. I keep it stocked on my shelf all the time.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adreinke from United States with 16 ratings

This is an excellent mixer for the dark and stormy but can also be enjoyed sipped if you prefer a slower evening.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Guy from Canada with 9 ratings

A great tasting smooth rum, wonderful with a little coke and a splash of lime.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 49 ratings

We love this for a good dark & stormy, and as a milder float for other drinks (when you don't need to head to the 151 JUST yet...). So when you're throwing a party and making tropical drinks for people, there's always that ONE friend who "can't stand those fruity, sugary drinks!" you can pull this out, with some ginger beer, squeeze in a lime and make it their gateway to deliciousness...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Brian from Australia with 27 ratings

I personally don't enjoy this as a sipping rum but use it most of the time in a Jungle Bird cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by coolkayaker from United States with 16 ratings

My go to for a good black rum. Flavor is excellent in mixed drinks. Good little brother to the overproof 151.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted over 1 year ago by Neman3 from Canada with 112 ratings

Silimiliar taste with Old rum. But feels like it is 80% of water and 20% of Old rum.
Still good for the money, may be cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kevin from United States with 34 ratings

First drink was on the rocks. Although it wasn't bad it wasn't good either. 2nd drink was a dark n stormy and it was pretty good even though im not big on ginger beer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Sbilmer from Canada with 11 ratings

Rich ruby red colour. Thick molasses flavour. Sharp on back of tongue.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Skyvie from United States with 37 ratings

Nice smooth blackstrap rum, though it does taste a little plain. Great for mixing and decent for drinking neat. However, I would prefer kraken and Capt Morgan Black over this one for drinking neat. Nice overall (and nice to have on hand for variety).

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by peter75 from Netherlands with 19 ratings

Gosling's Black Seal is a nice black rum and is a 7. It has a nice sweet and smooth taste.