Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10 (411 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
10
14
42
98
149
77
11
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

411 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ghandimaster from CZ with 29 ratings

This is quite distingtive rum even in Black category. Deep flavour of molases with dark soily scents. It is quite serious and dry personality among rich black rums. Autumn liquore.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Fio_Letta from Ukraine with 16 ratings

One of the best rums I've tried. Feels like it is dense and rich.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tommaso from Italy with 14 ratings

I thought it would be a low quality rum, yet I was pleasantly surprised. I think you can smell and taste some artificial notes of fruit or vanilla, but overall much better than Captain Morgan or other similar rums. I guess it will be great in cocktails but not so bad per se.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by kevie from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

I'd seen this rum mentioned by various people online, however I have never seen it available locally so I decided to try it out via Amazon. I tried it as a dark and stormy, it poured nicely but the taste of rum was lost in the ginger beer and lime. I then tried it with Pepsi, but again all I could taste was the Pepsi. I plugged for it straight and it had sweetness, treacle and molasses, but in very faint quantities. Sadly I found the taste a bit too tame for my taste buds. I usually drink Watsons Trawler or Demerara Rum which have bags of strong flavours, but this was far more mellow. I'd put this a little above Lamb's Navy or OVD, both of which are available at a considerably cheaper price (at the time of purchase, I paid £23). It's not horrible, sadly I found it a rather bland rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 19 ratings

folks over at gosling's were smart to trademark the dark and stormy to market their rum because this artificially flavoured rum is mediocre at best.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by opkins from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

I’m not what you’d call a rum connoisseur as I’ve only tried a few of them, but this is one of the best so far. It goes down very smoothly and has a nice hint of caramel. I’ll definitely have this one again.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Skegga from Sweden with 30 ratings

The one and only Dark 'n' Stormy rum... Pour it into a glass of ginger beer and ice, and you get a very good two-color drink

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by rhumsunset from United States with 3 ratings

Has an appealingly rich, dark color but lacks the depth of flavors to rated above a 6/10.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ShaneD from United States with 14 ratings

There is some real value to this rum and it has formed the basis by which I judge other black rums. It has pleasant notes of cloves and caramel and it's deep flavor compliments drinks with powerful flavors like lime, ginger, Campari, and pineapple very well. It is an excellent rum for the price and would be my first choice if I was serving black rum drinks to a lot of people on a budget.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Had a great Dark N Stormy in Rum House Bar in Prague. (photo of homemade drink)

Very fresh taste thanks to ginger ale, and Goslings rum is the best choice for this drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by evvyemz from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Very lovely & sweet tasting rum. Definitely up there with high end rums.