Posting your rating...
Gosling's 151 rum

Rate Gosling's 151

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


45 Gosling's 151 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Overproof rum is the best way to kick up a tropical cocktail. Float this on a Chief Lapu Lapu and you’ll taste what this can bring to a mix. It’s not going to bring the spice of Lemon Heart but it’s extremely friendly and a bargain. Completely worthy of holding a spot in your cabinet.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jason from United States with 5 ratings

That's the dark to the stormy. 151 is the right kick for the classic cocktail

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Don't be afraid of the 151 on the label. This is actually a delicious sipper, with the same chocolate and port wine flavors as its 80 proof sibling. It also works wonders in Zombies and Jet Pilots. I like this rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dino from Germany with 43 ratings

Great mixing rum for Mai Tai or Dark and Stormy, recommended as a floater in similar drinks. Of course not a typical sipping rum although I like carefully sipping on rums like these eg Lemon Hart 151, Pusser's etc, the corner where this one belongs to stand amongst other dark overproofs. Dark and very aromatic it reminds a bit of the stronger Demeraras. You'll miss it once it's empty!

Posted about 4 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

Nose of sweet flavor yet with a hidden kick, tastes of dark licorice, anise and spice,

Posted about 4 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 30 ratings

This is some strong stuff. Needless to say, the 151 proof is very apparent on the nose. However, on the palate, in a dark and stormy, this gives the ginger a spicy dimension and allows you to taste the other flavors that are normally masked by the strong ginger and lime tastes. An excellent addition to a collection which already has the original Black Seal.

Posted about 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This rum is not something I would heartily recommend as a sipper. Add it to some coke in reasonable amounts and it will hit you like a sack of tatters right upside the noggin. Good mixer and that about says it all.
I can say one thing very positive about this rum and that is for being 151 its one of the less harsh high proof rums out there.

Posted over 4 years ago by michael greenman from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

still the king of dark and stormy. i have both goslings and this is the start of the night king .... a kicker but still deep palette full of brown sugar and caramel.. delicious

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Pretty much rehash the earlier reviews. If you like the regular Gosling's in your mixed drinks but want some extra kick, use this.

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This one is the one to use for a dark 'n stormy.. It has quite the same taste as the normal black seal.. But with a kick.

Posted over 6 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : Dark brown
Flavour : Rich rummy flavour with a caramel and citrus note
Palate : Powerfull, medium length, rich

A good overproof rum to use in Tiki drinks

Posted over 7 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

For the rare times i need an overproof rum, this isnt a bad choice at all and is quite rich and full bodied (not that im going to sip it straight up...)
Makes for a mean Dark 'n' Stormy, the drink is coincedentally trademarked by the Gosling's brothers in Bermuda!

Posted 3 months ago by coolkayaker from United States with 16 ratings

I add this to my Brandy old fashioneds to kick it up a notch. This is some powerful stuff. Great if you want to take your cocktails to the next level.

Posted 5 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

My Mom got this while in Bermuda this one is 140 proof. Perfect for tiki type cocktails or a lethal rum n’ coke. The taste is better then most overproof rum, Plantation OFTD is still the best. None the less it was a great Christmas gift from mom.

Posted 8 months ago by Lucy224 from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

You can taste the alcohol but it doesn’t burn at all! Being an overproof it was difficult to taste anything other than alcohol. I imagine it would very good as a cocktail spirit

Posted 9 months ago by RichPotter from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Fruity undertones. Isn't too harsh on the throat. Smells wonderful and packs a punch. Recommended.

Posted 9 months ago by ShaneD from United States with 14 ratings

This is not delicious by any means but it serves its purpose as a 151 with some flavor. If you're looking for a serious upgrade try Hamilton 151.

Posted 10 months ago by daveyjones from Australia with 21 ratings

If you love a good dark and stormy then this is (as you’d expect) a solid choice.
Better yet is 30ml of this, 30 of lemon juice and 15 of cane juice. Fill yr glass
With ice and Stir until you have an icy crust on it. Garnish with whatever and share with friends.

Good, bad or otherwise this will be sitting next to J Wray in the bar with a spare in the cellar.

Flavoursome.

Posted 10 months ago by Red from United States with 7 ratings

Not bad. Let's face it, you bought it for the alcohol content. Not complex, but it makes a great dark and stormy. It's better than Bacardi, which isn't saying much, but the flavors are richer.

Posted 12 months ago by Ubernewt from Canada with 10 ratings

I would say that in my experience, I do enjoy cause goslings overproof black rum maybe a bit more than plantation oftd however the fact that I am as a Torontonian am able to pick up this bottle time has made of TD more of a special incense. this is a solid black room with great flavour and his a great companion with most mixes. It really is a working horse.

Posted about 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 46 ratings

Color, very dark amber, probably lots of added caramel colouring, stains the glass when it dries up.
Nose: toasted dark sugar, licourice, raisins
Taste: all of the above, bit sweet (sugar added?)dark chocolate,
Finish: sharp and bit harsh, tannic, drying oakiness, lingers for quite a long time.
Overall: Decent overproof for mixing, is also ok when sipped diluted with some water.
Not my favourite overproof but is quite good mixed in some tiki drinks.

Posted about 1 year ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

Really yummy dark rum that is great with ginger beer. The extra concentration lifts it nicely into the next level regarding dark rum flavours, but its a little easy to get carried away, and its a fair bit pricier than the standard Black seal, which is why I have deducted a point.

Not recommended for people that take pride in 'holding their drink', totally recommended for people that like a versatile dark rum

Posted over 1 year ago by Svehloun from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

Zase nový rum. Chuťově celkem výrazný. Celkem hořký rum. Se zazvorovim pivem dobře pití.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Run away from Gosling's 151 Black Seal Rum. It is nasty! Rubber and glue hits you straight to the nose and palate with a super strong burn over powering everything else. Just awful.

Posted over 1 year ago by Ted from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

The magic of this rum it’s its strength and its diversity. This makes a cracking mojito or is nice just over ice.

Not overly sweet and even some bitter notes in places, that helps keep it fairly neutral.

This would make an amazing after supper tipple by the fire !!