Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial Onyx rum

Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10(76 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
23
37
7
1

Rate Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

76 Barcelo Imperial Onyx ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

another good sipper, not oversweet.
All these promo stories about onyx and silver make almost mystical atmosphere and black embossed bottle is very impresive. Good gift.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark N from Netherlands with 18 ratings

availabe in NL since last month. i like the regular imperial so was looking forward to try. put simply, it's well worth the additional money over the imperial. (36 eur vs 22 eur in NL). where the regular has it's flaws you take for granted due to price, the onyx has more to prove. the sweetness in the aftertaste remains but the taste overall is much more in balance. the additional time it spent on the heavily charred whiskey and bourbon barrels makes me think off flor de cana. which is also made of cane juice and matured on Jack Daniels barrels.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by MikeVD from Netherlands with 1 rating

This one started my interest in Rum. Really like the flavor, good on the rocks as well.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful amber color going on the mohagany. This rum from Barcelo is a new version of the imperial with a filtration made through onyx stones (hence its name) and an aging in three types of barrel containing three types of different whisky or bourbon including Jack Daniel's. The aging in the three types of barrels seems to be the same but I have no more information and also the name of other bourbon. Otherwise, on the nose, we're on classic Barcelo, it's very pastry, caramel, coconut, almond, vanilla, toasted, cherry. In the mouth, the woody arrives with the spices the finish is present but not significant. It's not very long. A classic revisited.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 121 ratings

Nice perfect Ron for business meeting. Ey like dry Ron but good taste an perfect body. I like it. Yeah.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by David D from United States with 2 ratings

I just returned from a trip to La Rommona, and a tour of the Barcelo factory. And discovered his wonderful rum. The extra char in he barrels gives this rum whiskey flavor, with hints of vanilla. Great on the rocks, or with a splash of coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Ron dulce excelente para tomarlo en la rocas! Lo recomiendo.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Sousou85 from France with 40 ratings

Aromes vanille, amende et un epu se réglisse dans un second temps.
Manque de longueur en bouche.

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

This deep amber-hued rum offers a caramel aroma, with an intriguing hint of violet. The silky palate opens with caramel and brown butter, accented by dried fig and walnut, finishing long and gently spiced. Made with a blend of rums aged for 10 years in ex-Bourbon casks with heavy char, then filtered through onyx stones. That unique filtration may not add much except a point to contemplate while sipping, which is highly encouraged.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by svartkonst from Sweden with 11 ratings

This rum was something else and fairly unexpected. It was sweet but not too sweet and had a very rich, warm taste. More caramel than fruit and something you can spend an evening with at a slow pace.

The bottle is a sturdy and elegant piece of work that looks good in any cabinet.