Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial Onyx rum

Rate Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


59 Barcelo Imperial Onyx ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 11 months ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

another good sipper, not oversweet.
All these promo stories about onyx and silver make almost mystical atmosphere and black embossed bottle is very impresive. Good gift.

Posted about 1 year ago by MikeVD from Netherlands with 1 rating

This one started my interest in Rum. Really like the flavor, good on the rocks as well.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mark N from Netherlands with 18 ratings

availabe in NL since last month. i like the regular imperial so was looking forward to try. put simply, it's well worth the additional money over the imperial. (36 eur vs 22 eur in NL). where the regular has it's flaws you take for granted due to price, the onyx has more to prove. the sweetness in the aftertaste remains but the taste overall is much more in balance. the additional time it spent on the heavily charred whiskey and bourbon barrels makes me think off flor de cana. which is also made of cane juice and matured on Jack Daniels barrels.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful amber color going on the mohagany. This rum from Barcelo is a new version of the imperial with a filtration made through onyx stones (hence its name) and an aging in three types of barrel containing three types of different whisky or bourbon including Jack Daniel's. The aging in the three types of barrels seems to be the same but I have no more information and also the name of other bourbon. Otherwise, on the nose, we're on classic Barcelo, it's very pastry, caramel, coconut, almond, vanilla, toasted, cherry. In the mouth, the woody arrives with the spices the finish is present but not significant. It's not very long. A classic revisited.

Posted 3 months ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 117 ratings

Nice perfect Ron for business meeting. Ey like dry Ron but good taste an perfect body. I like it. Yeah.

Posted almost 3 years ago by David D from United States with 2 ratings

I just returned from a trip to La Rommona, and a tour of the Barcelo factory. And discovered his wonderful rum. The extra char in he barrels gives this rum whiskey flavor, with hints of vanilla. Great on the rocks, or with a splash of coke.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Ron dulce excelente para tomarlo en la rocas! Lo recomiendo.

Posted over 3 years ago by Sousou85 from France with 36 ratings

Aromes vanille, amende et un epu se réglisse dans un second temps.
Manque de longueur en bouche.

Posted 6 days ago by Izzy from Sweden with 7 ratings

What a great presentation! I liked the bottle a lot and I choosed as a birthdaypresent for a friend. The friend was not at home and I couldn't resist not to open the bottle!
A wonderfull amber colour in the glass
Nose: chocolade, dried cherry, vanilla, dates, some spicy hints
Taste: smooth, fruity, vanilla and caramel, but not too sweet. An explosion of taste that make you happy while sipping your glass.
P.S. Don't worry, I bought another bottle to my friend ;-)

Posted 13 days ago by Joakim Cederlöf from Sweden with 35 ratings

Wow, vilken goding.

Här har vi en rom som har rätt nyans, den där mörk röd-bruna färgen som en mörk rom ska ha.

Arom och smakmässigt så har den allt som man vill ha; vanilj, choklad torkade frukter och så finns det även en liten hint av något jordnära.

Kan varmt rekommendera denna.

Posted 20 days ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

Under £40 a bottle is great value. Typically Dominican: sweet and buttery with an oaky finish. Tiny bit of burn and not too complex a finish but thoroughly enjoyable.

Posted 20 days ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

This is my favorite reminds me of the original Imperial, but with more complex flavor. It stays true to a Rum and does not try to imitate a whisky. Smooth and sweet, much less bite and better flavor to the Regular Imperial well worth the extra cost. Can be Enjoyed Neat.

Posted 26 days ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Mir gefällt der "normale" Imperial schon sehr gut. Dieser ist sogar minimal besser. Ob das an der Edelsteinfiltrierung liegt stelle ich in Frage, aber das Ergebnis weiß zu überzeugen.

Posted about 1 month ago by MrLargo from Sweden with 12 ratings

Very pleasent rum, perfect after a fine dinner with an espresso. Also has some mineral tone to it, maybe from the onyx stones? I don't know but this is bottle I gladly buy again.

Posted about 1 month ago by dominicana123!! from United States with 1 rating

Aroma, taste, and price. Smells great, can be mixed with any soft drinks.

Posted about 2 months ago by roger from Italy with 3 ratings

The palette is sweet with butterscotch and nice test

Posted about 2 months ago by clark from Sweden with 2 ratings

OK sipping rum. Not too sweet although obviously colored with caramel. Resembles Motörhead very much. I would guess it's the same product, but the Onyx is $10 more, which makes it less priceworthy. Doesn't really love up to the exclusive look of the bottle. Another $10 will get you Zacapa which is in another class

Posted about 2 months ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 20 ratings

Beautiful colours on this one. Tastes great, great on the nose too. Really good value, a must have for day to day sipping :)

Posted about 2 months ago by Myran from Sweden with 31 ratings

Little to much alcohol taste but still good. Good value.

Posted 2 months ago by tobiasz from Poland with 15 ratings

A lot of coffee, toffi and sugar cane. Marzipan, vanilla and roasted fruits too. Good for ladies, because of the 38% ABV.

Posted 3 months ago by Lucho2207 from Peru with 12 ratings

Bought it for sipping but found it good for mixing. It tastes a bit strong but has a great smell. A good one but not as i’ve expected.

Posted 3 months ago by Edwwa from Lithuania with 23 ratings

Got one as a present. Good looking bottle and great sipper

Posted 3 months ago by Lukasz from Poland with 18 ratings

In the nose a lot of cherries, cherry leaves, cherries in chocolate, currant. Taste a lot of mold, barrel and cherry, also leaves and wood. A tan, tea finish. And cherries. Rum for cherry lovers.

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

A lot of oak. There are some similarities to Mount Gay XO Triple Cask. Almost the same nose. MG XO is more spicy in the taste, I like the Barcelo Onyx a little bit more. Very cheap for the price like all Barcelos.

Smell: oak/wood, dry fruits, tropical fruit (banana, peach, mandarine), caramel, vanilla
Taste: oak, caramel, peach, paper, burned sugar
Finish: leather, spice, wet barrel, dark fruit
Aftertaste: wood/wet barrel and caramel

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 2/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 4/5