Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial Onyx rum

Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10 (61 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
17
32
5
1

Rate Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


61 Barcelo Imperial Onyx ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3ba44cc3cc320351018313d861cc99d4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

another good sipper, not oversweet.
All these promo stories about onyx and silver make almost mystical atmosphere and black embossed bottle is very impresive. Good gift.

2ed6b74076296acd207a52136a64a97f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by MikeVD from Netherlands with 1 rating

This one started my interest in Rum. Really like the flavor, good on the rocks as well.

53e9f4baa673e6b89bf1c16576854876.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Mark N from Netherlands with 18 ratings

availabe in NL since last month. i like the regular imperial so was looking forward to try. put simply, it's well worth the additional money over the imperial. (36 eur vs 22 eur in NL). where the regular has it's flaws you take for granted due to price, the onyx has more to prove. the sweetness in the aftertaste remains but the taste overall is much more in balance. the additional time it spent on the heavily charred whiskey and bourbon barrels makes me think off flor de cana. which is also made of cane juice and matured on Jack Daniels barrels.

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful amber color going on the mohagany. This rum from Barcelo is a new version of the imperial with a filtration made through onyx stones (hence its name) and an aging in three types of barrel containing three types of different whisky or bourbon including Jack Daniel's. The aging in the three types of barrels seems to be the same but I have no more information and also the name of other bourbon. Otherwise, on the nose, we're on classic Barcelo, it's very pastry, caramel, coconut, almond, vanilla, toasted, cherry. In the mouth, the woody arrives with the spices the finish is present but not significant. It's not very long. A classic revisited.

9c0a83a5f16f565409736a6f08e6be4f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

Nice perfect Ron for business meeting. Ey like dry Ron but good taste an perfect body. I like it. Yeah.

B5023c3b6eb435f4820703877e28c627.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by David D from United States with 2 ratings

I just returned from a trip to La Rommona, and a tour of the Barcelo factory. And discovered his wonderful rum. The extra char in he barrels gives this rum whiskey flavor, with hints of vanilla. Great on the rocks, or with a splash of coke.

2627383c580627387a171f43e6b31f9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Ron dulce excelente para tomarlo en la rocas! Lo recomiendo.

12ebe6790cfe1f58ee312db4fee16aa4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Sousou85 from France with 37 ratings

Aromes vanille, amende et un epu se réglisse dans un second temps.
Manque de longueur en bouche.

D4e939afc574f30e9425f72341df7027.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 days ago by Ross from Australia with 10 ratings

This is one of the smoothest, most balanced and flavoursome rums I have in my collection. I love Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, and this is absolutely on par. The aftertaste is smooth and sweet, the initial taste is sweet and mellow, and the smell is a balanced chocolate, light smoke and berries.

Delicious!

2742a5fa383f6db3c69fd6fc75bce4b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 198 ratings

Gets an extra point for presentation and price.. Nice fruity , caramel nose upon pouring. Dark mahogany colour suggesting added caramel. Smoother than the original with a bit less bite, warm in the mouth but as with the Imperial , no burn on the way down. Only 38% , would like to try this at a higher proof.