Posting your rating...
Habitation Velier 2013 Foursquare rum

Habitation Velier 2013 Foursquare

Italy | Aged

8.2/10 (26 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
1
13
7
2

Rate Habitation Velier 2013 Foursquare

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


26 Habitation Velier 2013 Foursquare ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Light bronze color. The nose gives notes of exotic fruit with pineapple. There is also coconut, butter, vegetal notes and woody, cigar box. On the palate, it's very hot on spices. Pepper, nutmeg. The final is short on wood, leather, tobacco. Very nice rum.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL about 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Fresh with cooling mints, good that it is not as harsh as anticipated from the hefty ABV at young age. Probably distilled with very slow pace on a tall stills. Plenty of ester extraction, waxy red apple skins with crisp citrus. Soft prunes and raisins.from the cask. Mellow and solid. (22/25)

P- Fragrant of milk chocolate, sour caramel with thick prune fruits. Mouth watering lemon/lime citrus zest. Layer of phenolic bitter vanilla added a welcoming dimensions to the palate. Smooth. (23/25)

F- Long, drift of dried fruits of cognac. Velvet coats of spiciness, light texture, may not carry lots of depth and loud with the high strength, but rather pleasant, juicy with plenty of briny fresh citrus zest. (22/25)

Balanced:- Ya, it does burns slightly, but with plenty of lifted citrus notes, and no sugar added..... (22/25)

Weighted Rate:- 89pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 62 ratings

100% Pot still
Distilled 2013
Bottled 2015
Aged 2 years in cognac casks
Sugar free
Unchillfiltered
Uncoloured
Barrel proof 64%abv

Nose: Quite cocnagey, grapes, vanilla, caramel, black pepper, damp oak, interesting savoury notes and glue

Palate: First thing that hits you is the hefty alcohol bite and glue that is wrapped in hot black pepper and caramel with cocnag notes, with water diluted to about 35%abv you get lot more nutty and spice flavors, wallnuts pecan, cinnamon allspice, clove, also oak vanillins and some savoury notes again.
This is surprisingly oaky rum, you get a strong amount of oak to balance the flavours, i guess they used really high quality casks when making this rum to get such a strong oak profile with only 2 years.
Finish: Oaky, nutty dryness with some almost tannic aromas on back palate. Flavours linger pleasantly for quite a long time, with mouth watering oaky dryness.
This is a beast of a rum, this rum hasnt been fermentated in a super estery way so it doesnt have a big ester profile but it is still interesting in its own merits, super punchy and packed with natural flavour and mouth watering oakiness.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jan from Netherlands with 10 ratings

As with most of the Habitation Velier Foursquare 2013 rum releases it is quite experimental and different even againt the “normal” Foursquare releases. It won’t be a rum for everyone.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 24 ratings

Wow! I'm an admitted high-proof whore but this does not drink anything like 128 proof. I haven't tried adding even just 1 drop of water. Don't want to. For a 2 year old rum this has a great deal of depth to it. Dry. Not as oaky as any Exceptional Cask. Starts sweet but ends with a nutty spiciness. I knew I should have bought an extra bottle of this but, at the time, I wasn't sure if I'd dig a 2 year old rum as much as I do now. I'll know better next go-round.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Russ from United States with 71 ratings

Despite the very high ABV it doesn't have the normal "alcohol" nose that other high ABV rums often have. You a lot of dried fruit coming through immediately. The first taste you get a lot of oak but also sweetness and that's what makes this rum so interesting and complex. While I normally never add any water to my rums I think a few drops in this one helps brings out the complexity even more. Great rum!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Nirvana in a bottle... and it`s pure rum,no added sugar or other nonsense.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is a great offering and example on how Foursquare can make a tremendous 100% pot still. PLEASE MAKE MORE!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 357 ratings

Goldgelbes Bernstein im Glas.
Im der Nase öffnet sich ein Meer von Düften. Wow, so vielschichtig und komplex, für einen zweijährigen Rum recht krass. Da sind zum einen die frischen, fruchtigen Noten von Blumen und Zuckerrohr, aber auch Früchte und Kokos. Zum Anderen bilden erdige Töne von Holz, Harz, Moos, Torf und Gewürze wie Nelken, Zimt und Kardamom einen Gegenpol.
Im Gaumen erzeugen die 64% eine gehaltvolle Aromaexplosion. Gewürze, Vanille, Karamell, Früchte, Holz und noch viel mehr spielen geschickt ihre Trümpfe aus. Jede Beschreibung ist Zuwenig, selber probieren.
Im Abgang schön lang. Karamell ist sehr präsent, auch Schokolade, Gewürze und Früchte klingen lange nach.
Ein unglaublicher zweijähriger Rum mit dem man sich auseinandersetzen muss. Für Liebhaber die diese Art von Rum verstehen, nicht für Jeden, ungefärbt, ungesüsst.

Golden yellow amber in a glass.
In the nose a sea of scents opens up. Wow, so multi-layered and complex, quite crass for a two-year rum. On the one hand there are the fresh, fruity notes of flowers and sugar cane, but also fruits and coconut. On the other hand, earthy tones of wood, resin, moss, peat and spices such as cloves, cinnamon and cardamom create an antipole.
In the palate the 64% produce a full-bodied aroma explosion. Spices, vanilla, caramel, fruits, wood and much more play their trump cards. Any description is not enough, try it yourself.
In the finish beautifully long. Caramel is very present, chocolate, spices and fruits also resonate for a long time.
An unbelievable two-year rum that you have to deal with. For lovers who understand this kind of rum, not for everyone, undyed, unsweetened.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

I definitely agree with another reviewer's opinion on the "minty" aroma. That really is something - very unusual and quite pleasant.
Excellent flavor and persistence - oily, nutty, and quite refined even for such a young age (and very well behaved at such a strength). I detect the cooling quality from the mint on the finish which is very peculiar... Here we see the high proof supporting a rather subtle balance of flavors and aromas, rather than a beast like we might expect from a Jamaican. Best to have it sipped, and enjoyed over the course of several hours.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Bought a bottle of Habitation Velier Foursquare 2013 while vacationing in Martinique. Very nice and high end packaging, bottle and label design. Golden color. Traditional Bajan flavors are complemented with spices, pepper and plenty of oak to the nose and palate. Strong and dry burn at the end.