Posting your rating...
Navy Island XO Reserve rum

Rate Navy Island XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Navy Island XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 months ago by Imaks from Latvia with 14 ratings

Gut Voldemar+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

If you love natural Jamaica rums, go for it. I think it's cheap and good for the money.
There are not that much esters and it could be more complex.
It's not watery but it should have more fruit aromas in my opinion.
Maybe the reduction to 40% was not a good decision.
If you have more budged, go for Hamptden Jamaica rum.

Smell: citrus, some ester, fermented fruits, some vanilla, oak
Taste: little bit sweet, oily, some vanilla, spice, some bitternes (oak)
Finish: middle long, citrus and bitterness (I would enjoy more fruits)

Casks: ex Bourbon casks (white oak)
Style: English, blend, pot still

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 3.5/5
Mildness: 3/5

Posted 4 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Looking to try something different I thought I would buy a bottle of Navy Island XO Reserve rum from local liquor store. In spite of the unflattering reviews on this rum I realized that I ought to find out for myself as I have come across bad reviews in the past for rums that I find delicious. The deciding factor in purchasing this rum was that everybody agreed that it was a dry rum and being from Jamaica it contains no added sugar.

I let the rum sit in my glass for 15 minutes before evaluating it. The nose reminded me of a blend of Appleton 12 yr rum and Pusser British Navy rum. First sip confirmed that it is similar to a lighter version of Appleton 12 yr rum and I liked it right away.

Nice find.

Posted 5 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

It deserve better rating than here. It is typical Jamaican rum with no added sugar so it is very dry. On the nose its suprisingly sweet with flavours of banana, caramel and wood. Taste is very dry with hints of vanilla, tropical fruit and oak. Really strong bourbon finish. It is better to leave it couple of minutes in glass.

Posted 7 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Passt super in Pina Colada mit seinen feinen Jamaica noten.
Macht aber auch pur im Glas einen guten Eindruck.

Posted 10 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Rum tasting with my buddy in Tampere continued with Navy Island XO Rum. Very nice old school bottle and label design. Light golden color. Plenty of glue, rubber and funk to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Harsh burn at the end.

Posted about 1 year ago by ruidemorais from Portugal with 1 rating

A typical Jamaican rum with predominant notes of vanilla and toffee. The perfect companion to a cuban cigar. Drink it straight with an ice cube and a zest of lemon. Not a rum for amateurs. As I use to say: a true "pirate's rum"

Posted about 1 year ago by Beksons from Latvia with 1 rating

Smarža atgādina lētu Cazino rumu, garša spirtota bet mazliet labak nekā smaržo. Der tikai kokteiļos.

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Brutal. unfinished...I love it that you can taste the jamaican influence.

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Jamajka
Aroma: Nasládlá rumová tresť, med, bonbónová sladkost (možná Slávie?), pečený banán, kandované tropické ovoce, cukrová vata. Vůně je hodně sladká. (87 b)
Chuť: V chuti ovšem velmi suchý. Spíš koňakový suchý dojem. Suchá ovocnost, pečený banán, lehce dřevo, míza. Máslově toustová dochuť. Stylově trochu podobný agricole stylu. (81 b)
Body: 84/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnán vzorek koupený v českolipském baru Egypt. Vůně pro mě fajn, chuťově ale tyhle hodně suché rumy většinou moc nemusím.

Posted over 2 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Nicht süß, nicht mild, recht würzig und spiritusartig. Der Rum ist weder in erd Nase noch auf der unge überzeugend - leider sehr enttäuschend und nicht für den puren Genuss geeignet. Preis-Leistung stimmt hier nicht.

Posted over 2 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Taste horrible. I can not find any of the taste notes.

Posted about 3 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

A good rum for sipping !
I love it that you can taste the jamaican influence.
As a whisky lover , it reminds me of the difference between a regular and a peated whisky.

Posted about 3 years ago by paaf from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

Not good for sipping, strong alcoholic taste and smell as well.

Posted about 3 years ago by Dennis Kjer from Denmark with 33 ratings

En rigtig Jamaica rom her med en voldsom duft af røg og fad. Smagen er ganske fin, og især hvis man er til lakrids. Lakridsen er en anelse salt, men i den lange eftersmag tiltræder frugtnoter som bl.a. fersken. Rommen er billig, ses ofte til 300kr og en ganske habil flaske til prisen.