Posting your rating...
Foursquare Spiced rum

Rate Foursquare Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


60 Foursquare Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 78 ratings

Goes down smooth but spices could be better, goes well with coke

Posted 4 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Since this spiced rum with no added sugar is not rated so highly here, I never went out of my way to find it until I stumbled across it a few days ago in Las Vegas. It was only $14, and I will stock up on it the next time I see it!!!

This is a very smooth rum at 70 proof with flavors of cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg, and a few of their proprietary seasonings. Because it has no added sugar, there are no ill after effects the next day. It is now my second favorite spiced rum behind Blackwell's Reserve. It was also the best of the three rums from Foursquare that I tried on this trip. Doorly's XO was not too far behind, but Doorly's 12 Year was a major disappointment.

Posted 5 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Calamansi and Guinness treacle aspic, cola. Despite spiced and diluted.... stylish and nice earthy characters still leading the pack. Well spiced flavoured coming along with juicy candy, sweet floral, tea-ish with nutty pistachio and coconut jelly. (86/20)

P- Frankly, this does not comes along as a good commercial spiced rum at all. But instead as an excellent sipping rum, cocoa powder, naturally oak-y and funky, creamy with bitter-ish spiciness for mouth coat of mineral, salts and unoffensive clean new make. (87/21)

F- Medium long, warming and waxy. Full at shamefully 37.5%, spiced with elegant utterly finesse. (87/21)

B/B- 87/21

Weighted Rate- 85pt
— at Kill Devil KL.

Posted 5 months ago by Pamponiros from Greece with 14 ratings

This is not your typical mass-produced sweetened spiced rum, no, this stuff is so good you can drink it neat. Natural flavors and sweetness get it to another level. Greatest mixer for spiced rum cocktails for me. If on the other hand you like some other more popular rums out there, you might not want to try this one.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Its good one. High qualitative product from foursquare. But it’s tottaly “empty”. No individuality.

If we look on the price, I’ll can give 8. But I always give characteristics for Rum no matter what price it was.

And if you won’t you don’t need to mix it. This Rum is smooth enough. And plus for me - this Rum looks like is no sugar added.

Posted over 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

This is a tasty all-around rum, great for a rum & coke. I gave it an extra point because there are NO sugars added after distillation, which is a plus for someone on a low carb diet.

I started by pouring it neat. It's light in color, like an aged gold rum. The bouquet is very light with hints of vanilla and spice cake. The first sip hits you mid-tongue, and fills the back with a peppery flavor and just a little burn. It leaves behind just a little warmth and just a hint of spice cake.

In the end, this is a nice gold rum with hints of spice. It's great with cola, and without the sugar it will be my go-to for a Rum & Diet Coke.

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I was disappointed with this. It's pretty uninspiring and, well....rough.... in fact I'd go as far as to say that is does taste a bit like petrol might - yuk. So sharp and harsh it makes you shudder.
As a spiced rum, it's dull; as a rum it's harsh, sharp and tastes foul. It has the traditional spice taste but not in any persuasive or inspiring way. The spices are neither subtle not strong, but kind of wishy-washy. I found nothing special in it at all, and think that the others I have tried - Red Leg, Chairman's Reserve, Rebellion and Dark Matter - are all way more interesting.
Frankly I found it undrinkable neat. You'd think that it would work as a mixer....but I still found it awful then.
The first rum I have not been able to finish a glass of neat.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

I like this rum a lot. I normally do not drink spiced or flavored rums except for a few occasions when I want a change from the ordinary. This rum has a nice aroma and sweetness brought out by the warm baking spices, vanilla, toffee and some dried fruit notes. I enjoy this neat as you would. I guess you could mix it with coke but I feel the sweetness would be overwhelming.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Excellent rum! Very good flavour, a nice level of spice, and very smooth. Easy to drink neat and enjoy the taste. I only bought a small 25cl sampl bottle, so I definitely need to buy a full bottle soon. Hard to rate correctly after such a small taste, but I'm gonna go with an 8 for now until I try more.

Posted over 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Not over-spiced or sugared. It is a fine subtle spiced rum for most mixed drinks.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum has quite a bit of spice to it. Smells and tastes of sweet vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, pepper, and honey. Not bad at all for a spiced rum, and an incredible value at only $13.99 (Total Wine & More, 2016).

Posted almost 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

I read many of the descriptions of Foursquare Spiced and decided to try it with some coke. As usual I order them separately to taste the rum straight prior to mixing. For the first time in my life I simply sipped on a spiced rum straight... It's that good! It's hard to believe, but then even better in Coke, likely the best rum I've mixed with Coke ever!

Lots of Carmel and vanilla in the nose, but not overwhelming and slightly mild. The taste is mild as well and sweet, no overpowering notes - similar in fact to Zaya. The finish is medium and seems to get better over time.

While it might lack some complexity of aged rums, this Foursquare Spiced is unbelievable for a spiced and likely minimal aged rum. Great value, strong buy recommendation.

Posted about 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

The finest rum to mix with coke.... Wow such a delight

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

I don't drink a lot of spiced rum. The main reason I bought this was because R.L Seale's name was on the label, and his rums are almost always excellent. It's pretty tame straight up, fairly understated. Easy to drink, not at all offensive, but lacking something. Maybe more spice?

Posted over 4 years ago by Adam Kennedy from United States with 1 rating

As others have pointed out, there's a couple of other spiced rums that match this as a sipping rum, but in my opinion nothing that matches it as a mixer.

The vanilla is very, making it at but not sugary. The rum base is excellent, and the flavor is lovely but not so overwhelming it launches itself at you. And considering how good it is, it's surprisingly affordable. So you can burn through a whole bottle or two at a party (and you will, once people try it) without feeling hurt.

Fantastic with coke, ginger beer, or a good root beer (try A&W) .

Posted about 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

My favourite spiced rum by far ! Blows Sailor Jerry out of the water.. Very cheap here in N.Z (makes a pleasant change ) . A bit of a struggle to drink neat after the first couple of sips , but fantastic with a decent ginger beer . Bundaberg is my preferred choice , they make a great ginger beer but crap rum haha

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Another quality product from Richard Seales, unfortunately only available if you happen to live in a state where Total Wine sells liquor.

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

This is our favorite spiced rum. We visited the distillery in Barbados on our last trip there and could not get enough of this. Good thing the Total Wine in Cherry Hill, NJ carries this.

Posted over 7 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Certainly in my top 3 spiced rums alongside Chairmans and Element 8 but id say it's the sweetest and has the most vanilla. Try making a spiced Mojito with just a splash of pressed apple juice for a summer cooler.

Posted about 1 month ago by Rob Pettigrew from Canada with 22 ratings

I love FS rum, and have quite the collection. But this is not up to par, low ABV, not a lot of flavour.

Posted 2 months ago by Kcajer6678 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

This rum over ice, pure fruitcake flavour high in cinnamon

Posted 3 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 30 ratings

Honestly, I love cinnamon, but rum shouldn't taste like cinnamon rolls or apple spice tea. I think the rum has a lot of potential which is spoiled by the overpowering cinnamon flavor. It does taste like real cinnamon, but it's too strong for a spiced rum. It should be relabled as cinnamon infused rum, not spiced rum.

Oh boy, is it ever spiced! So spiced that you won't taste much of the rum! Like I said, the rum itself (if you can taste it) seems pretty good. Will have to try the non-spiced version to be sure.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

If you're looking for a spiced rum, this is a good one to get. Not overly spiced and also from a very well known source. Add a little ice and lime with some ocean waves and this is it!

Posted 4 months ago by The Answer is Rum from United States with 10 ratings

Seriously. $21.99 for 1.75L of Foursquare? For a rum with an average 6.8 rating on this site? I challenge anyone to name a better value in the world of commercially available rum. This stuff is like the new Kohala Bay.

Posted about 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

nuz, mal by to byt spiced rum, ale nie je to prilis citit, je suchy, pernikove korenie, zazvor, malo vanilky, na popijanie moc nie je, ale s kolou je fajn.