Posting your rating...
Westerhall Estate No 10 rum

Westerhall Estate No 10

Grenada | Aged

6.8/10
11 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
6
2

Rate Westerhall Estate No 10

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

11 Westerhall Estate No 10 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small profile 1

Posted over 4 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 112 ratings

Nice looking new bottle, really balanced combination of brown sugar and molasses that has an appealing combination of sweet and spice. Really seems like I could sip on this all night long. Slightly oily finish with some sour notes that moves the rum from 9 to 8/10 - but still a strong offering.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 57 ratings

I feel a little bit disappointed with this rum. Good solid bottle, proper rum colour, but,
Admittedly my “ nose” is not the best, but I’m struggling to find any discernible aromas with this.
Likewise the taste is quite bland, there’s nothing really stands out, it’s personally quite bland, even boring.
After 20 minutes sat in the glencairn, still nothing.
Pleasant burn, short lived, but I’m pretty sure this bottle will be a one off.
For me a disappointment.
Graham.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

I take all my rums straight up.

Nose is a little reserved, with a hint of spirit rather than fruit but there is subtle oak. On the body there is a soft, sweetness to the rum, presumably from the addition of sugar. It's well judged, easy to drink. Nice touch of oak on the finish. Reliable for GBP30 and better than the more high profile style over substance rums.

Bottled at 40% and there is a hint of a bit of a burn, but very gentle. Would prefer a wee bit stronger, say 43%, but not higher, as not sure it would benefit from it.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Aldx from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Enjoyed neat. Smooth taste you can slowly sip away at.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

It has a lovely golden amber colour with rich caramel on the nose. Sipped straight it is not overly sweet and has strong caramel, nutmeg and a hint of banana, but it soon fades into a smooth blend as soon as the ice starts to melt.

Small superstar

Posted over 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 114 ratings

Nose: pleasant caramel and oak, with some hints of banana and vanilla maybe, but not very intense: you can smell it well in a sniffer, but not very well in a tumbler.
Palate: rather thin, a bit spicy and some sharpness, but no ugly afterburn. Not very voluminous, not very aromatic, rather flat. Some hints of smoke.
6.9 - 7

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

The nose has a distinct sweetness to it with an almost flower-like background. The first taste is smooth and even, with lots of sugar and caramel on the tongue. The aftertaste is a bit oily and alcoholic but the rumminess fades a fair bit. The spirit does not seem to have a lot of depth. It's pleasant, reasonably tasty on first sip, but I don't think there's a lot going on. I'd drink it in a bar, but I would not buy a bottle. I was a bit disappointed, really.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 217 ratings

October 2020
Westerhall Estates started in rum business in the middle of the 19th century just selling on bulk. Over 100 years later, 1973, they created their first branded rum and at first 1989 export started. But quite shortly after, 1996, they stopped distilling and started buy rum first from Trinidad and nowadays from Barbados which they use for blending and bottling their products. So it’s Bajan rum blended and bottled in Grenada.
Nowadays the distillery lies in ruins after the hurricane Ivan 2004.
————————————————————————
A smooth rum in a nice bottle lots of caramel in nose and mouth with a quite long afterburn.
Picture: My Grenada shelf.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 46 ratings

Another nice rum. One of the best things about rum is that for £35-40 you’re pretty well guaranteed some really good spirit. And if you go fifteen smackers over that you’ll get some real life changing talking directly to God transcendental quality.

This is £35.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 475 ratings

The body of this rum has no flavour, no burnt barrel or oak barrels or anything. For someone who likes rum with little added this is perfect, for my taste buds this just doesn't do it for me

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2730 ratings

Tried the Westerhall Estate Number 10 and Westerhall Plantation Rum back-to-back. Number 10 has a bit quirky label, but very nice semi dark color. Good flavor profile and pleasurable nose test. I think this rum would have been spectacular if aged 5-7 years longer. Still a strong 7.