Posting your rating...
Rum & Cane French Overseas XO rum

Rum & Cane French Overseas XO

Andorra | Aged

6.7/10
17 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
10
4

Rate Rum & Cane French Overseas XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

17 Rum & Cane French Overseas XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

Pale gold color, mild alcohol scent nice Agricole Ruhm. Much easier to drink than Clements, surprisingly smooth but not a lot of depth. Traveling throughout Caribbean and West Indies I really appreciate this rum. Solid 7, for experienced rum aficionados.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 4 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 217 ratings

I got this 5cl rum sample in the first batch from Rum Ratings Club, so it’s just a first impression. If I run into a bottle I will probably buy it so I can check it out a little bit deeper.
It’s a blend that’s at least 6yo from Martinique and Reunion which I think gives it a taste somewhere between Martinique and Guadeloupe Rhum as it gets a bit of the juiciness and the power that characterizes Guadeloupe rum.
On the nose you will find Cane Sugar, Cinnamon, Pepper and Crème Caramel. Upon tasting you also discover Raisins, Licorice and Tropical Fruits. The finish goes in the same way and is medium long. It’s one of the best, almost perfect, blend of Agricole and molasses rums that I’ve tasted.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by MichaelNM from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Excellent packaging, perfect bottle, dark golden colour rum. Lacks in smell but a nice surprise with the first sip. A bit medicinal, a little burn in the mouth, nice after flavour. Let it breathe, and try it again, the flavours come out, I have moved the mark up to 7.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by kudzey (TASTING CLUB) from Poland with 18 ratings

Got a 5cl sample from the tasting club. I got to say I've never been a fan of agricole rums. While this one is a blend of cane and molasses rums, it is dominated by agricole notes.
Light golden color, highly transparent and not thick. Nose is intensive and full of sour fermented cane but not too alcoholic.
Cane in the moulth with hints of bitter pepper and moderate alcoholic taste. I can sense smoke somewhere at the end and earthy notes in the aftertaste.
Overall, I didn't find any traits of molasses and I'd say it was 100% agricole rum, the taste of which I just don't like. I believe this can be a decent rum but unfortunately not for me.

Small rob aperol

Posted 3 months ago by rprohaska from Netherlands with 1 rating

Nice fruity flavours, I sense hints of banana and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by The Rum Barrel from United Kingdom with 1 rating

A great rum blend of agricole and molasses based rums with rich and vegetal notes!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by GauchoSVK from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

I bit disappointed, expected more. Bottle and label design probably more worth than the rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2731 ratings

Rum tasting with my buddy in Tampere continued with Rum & Cane French Overseas XO. Very nice bottle and label design. Amber color. Strong and dry Rhum Agricole flavors to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Dry and short burn at the end.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alan from Belgium with 10 ratings

Nice flavor , but a not quite as smooth as I was expecting. Nice light caramel tones.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Rumislove from France with 5 ratings

The packaging is very surprising. You have to think twice, because of size of the bottle. You'll have to finish some bottles in order to make room in your cabinet !
Tasting this rum us very pleasant for my tongue because of the wooden and spicy notes. The alcohol is not strong except un the scent, and the warmth goes by to leave room to aromas like pepper, cane juice and cinnamon. I feel this particular taste of agricole rums that I love. The taste of Oak lasting is very pleasant to me.
The surprise is coming from the label which indicate it's a blend of rums!
I'm not a specialist but Martinique is far from La Réunion. So it's a good Idea to blend rums in order to make a great one.