Posting your rating...
Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D. rum

Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D.

Caribbean | Dark

7.7/10
156 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
7
4
36
84
19
3

Rate Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D.

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

156 Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D. ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

I had been told this was one of the better rums out there, so I grabbed a bottle. It is a good pour - a lot of heat that melts away into tobacco and molasses with a hint of a sweet finish that has a lingering spice to it.

I would not say it is one of the best rums I have had, but it is a very good pour that I will definitely pick up on occasion. Does not drink like an overproof, and I found it best after letting it air out for a few minutes.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Honestly I'm not really into overproof rums. I've tried several and most of them are like extremely potent hot sauces (something else of which I am a connoisseur)...all burn and little to no flavor.

So normally I stay away from them.

I started reading about this rum several months ago and it intrigued me. Especially since it comes from one of my favorite brands. So when I came across it at a store in Jacksonville (can't get it locally) I decided to get a bottle to try.

I was not disappointed.

Let me summarized thusly....excellent flavor but kicks like a bionic mule.

This is a dark rum. Deep, deep toffee amber. Nothing light about this. Of course the O.F.T.D. stands for "old fashioned traditional dark". Definitely a dark rum. No doubt about it.

Has an excellent aroma with a little sting...forewarning of what is to come.

Took me a few sips to get some of a flavor profile because in each sip, once the taste buds detected something, my throat and tongue got a sound thrashing from the 69% ABV (138 proof).

However some of what came across is an initial sweetness...a marked molasses sweetness. It almost was a fiery syrup. Although an overproof, it has a surprising smoothness to it even though there is a strong...not exactly a "burn" per se...but a marked extreme warmth that stays with you for quite a while. I think this would be a sipping rum for the hardcore but for the rest of us this rum would work well in boat drinks. If I remember, I will come back to this later on in my usual Coke Zero & rum combo (which is my normal concoction at home) and amend my review (see below). There is also a creaminess to it as well as a brief cinnamon and vanilla taste to it as well. Some caramel seems to be present as an undertone.

Overall, I have to say this is a recommendable overproof best suited for those rum punches that need a little extra punch. Definitely a good go-to rum for cocktails. Also, reading the label is entertaining as well (although I honestly cannot figure out how they manage to come up with all those intricate flavor profiles...oh, well...I am, at best, an amateur offering my personal measly opinion).

ADDENDUM 4/4/2017: This works exceedingly well in Coke Zero. One must be a little more cautious in how much one adds to the Coke Zero but the flavors mesh quite well. Delicious.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Garry Lelliott from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

To be honest, I bought this to make kick ass Cuba libras but found out it stands up on its own, although drinking it neat is on a par with going into an Indian restaurant and ordering the hottest curry on the menu.
Neat, it kicks like a mule, but has a surprising depth and complexity that comes through the alcoholic assault.
Over ice, this rum becomes much easier to drink, letting the oak and molasses shine.
Enjoyable, but handle with care!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark Ogilvie from United States with 20 ratings

It hits those Jamaican ester notes, but doesn't go overboard with them. It's overproof but drinks like it has a fiery spice instead of like jet fuel. The overripe banana transitions perfectly into those almost dusty dried fruit flavors. There's some interesting tobacco and coffee flavors in there that, when mixed, bloom into a soft chocolatey-ness.

I've spent a lot of time with this rum, and it still frequents my cabinet, but I've found that it can be tough to suss out everything it has going on without knowing how to mix it. This inflexibility has dropped it down a couple of points for me, as I usually prefer my rum neat, or with just a little splash of something extra.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

To me, this felt like the target was a traditional navy rum, in flavor profile, not just ABV. However, it does differ in a couple of respects. I get butterscotch on the nose. A touch of pineapple, buttery and fruity notes, plus that Navy rum twang. This will work very well in a number of cocktails where a strong rum profile is required. A very nice effort, and a good addition to the Plantation line.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 49 ratings

This is my first overproof rum, recommended by several here.

Dark and sultry, the first smell is of brown sugar and oak with a hint of flames. It dares you drink it neat; calls you a pussy if you don’t.

After you gather your courage and ensure you don’t have to drive anywhere for a while, you take a sip. The neat sip is fire and flavor combined, with a long burn. I get burnt brown sugar, caramel, a bit of spice and a nutty finish.

One large ice cube and this rum opens up with caramel, molasses and a hint of chocolate and honey, but still retains the flavors mentioned above and the burn that most rums lose with ice.

This may be my new favorite. It has a honey finish that lingers and it claps you on the back like a man after you drink it.

O.F.T.Delicious!

P.S. not for beginners.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Oh Fxxk That's Delicious!

Funky/ hogo flavour of Jamaican rum, chocolate fudge and fruity dried fruits along with cooked banana.
2 drops of water, less funky while it enhance the notes of chocolate fudge, coffee, cloves, raisins and woody in the glass.

Funky sour cherry and chocolate with caramel while sipping. Slight burning sensation due to alcohol but acceptable.
2 drops of water, enhance the flavour of caramel, banana and chocolate. Unsweetened banoffee pie.

End with dry finishing and dried fruits. Length was shorter than expectation yet it does provide balance finishing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Grendelite from United States with 13 ratings

This rum is the best rum I have had in the Planation collection and the most useful overproof I have had the chance to work with. While I do not recommend sipping this rum straight, it is a powerhouse in just about any rum cocktail. Sub in half an ounce (or a whole one if you ain't afraid of some booziness) of this for your next daiquiri and watch your ordinary drink transform into something amazing.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

I am quickly learning that the fine folks at Plantation never disappoint!! Nose is like cherry cola on steroids, mellowed out by a bit of butterscotch. High octane aroma, but nothing particularly profound. Palate has plenty of molasses, and some dried fruit character too (we're talking real dried fruit, not your sugar-loaded craisins). Again, all there from the get go, very good, rather one-dimensional. But you know what? This rum OWNS that one dimension!! And besides, you probably won't be sipping your overproof rums, you'll be mixing them, so that bumps this rum up to top notch! Surprise, another winner from Plantation!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by RaisingIndiana from United States with 9 ratings

It really is that good. Not something to give someone neat. But floating and in small doses, it's incredible. Lots of hogo. Lots of funk. Wonderful.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 410 ratings

Jamaika, Guyana und Barbados scheinen eine gute Mixtur zu sein,
jedenfalls in diesem Plantation Overproof.
Ein handwerklich perfekt gemachter Rum, ist bei diesem "Blender Team" auch nicht anders zu erwarten.
Ein wunderschönes Mahagoni im Glas.
In der Nase, dunkle Schokolade, dunkles Holz, dunkler Kaffee, dunkle Früchte.
Im Gaumen, oh ja, die 69% sind ein hervorragender Geschmacksträger, feuriges Karamell, feurige Vanille, feurige Schokolade, feurige Früchtchen. Sehr kräftig und doch angenehm.
Im Abgang sehr lecker und mit langanhaltenden subtilen süsse.
Kann durchaus tröpfchenweise pur genossen werden und macht sich gut in jedem Drink.

Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados seem to be a good mixture,
at least in this Plantation Over Proof.
A handmade, perfectly made rum is also to be expected with this "Blender team".
A beautiful mahogany in the glass.
In the nose, dark chocolate, dark wood, dark coffee, dark fruits.
On the palate, oh yes, the 69% is an excellent flavor carrier, fiery caramel, fiery vanilla, fiery chocolate, fiery fruits. Very powerful yet pleasant.
In the finish very tasty and with long-lasting subtle sweetness.
May well be enjoyed as pure droplets and looks great in any drink.