Posting your rating...
Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D. rum

Rate Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D.

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


110 Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D. ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Without question this is aimed at the tiki resurgence that has steadily been picking up steam. Really whats not to like about tiki as long as it's not exclusive. Yeah,,,,, well as with anything retro especially those things dealing in specific styles, some folks dive in head first and others see ways to turn a profit. There's no telling to what ends an obsessed time traveler will spend in order to out do their fellow club members. Fortunately everyone benefits from such escapism, at least in this case we all do.

If you love funky estery dunder rum such as Smith and Cross to the point that you consider it a fine sipper, as I, but sometimes wish it had a bit more smoke and more molasses.... this may just get you there. By every account of the marketing jargon it's primary target will have you floating it in a delicious concoction. BUT WAIT! it ain't a bad sipper, though I do get a nagging bit of sacrine in the finish. Not so mach as to be a deal breaker by any means. Really what can you ask for in a 69% abv dark full liter bottle of rum priced at $30? I didn't expect this much so I'm happy.
BTW on the label they have lovingly supplied us with a nose and flavor profile just to the right of the R. Crumb like profile illustrations depicting those involved in this achievement. I'd say they left out a huge dose of black licorice. But hey that just my palate.

Posted about 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Honestly I'm not really into overproof rums. I've tried several and most of them are like extremely potent hot sauces (something else of which I am a connoisseur)...all burn and little to no flavor.

So normally I stay away from them.

I started reading about this rum several months ago and it intrigued me. Especially since it comes from one of my favorite brands. So when I came across it at a store in Jacksonville (can't get it locally) I decided to get a bottle to try.

I was not disappointed.

Let me summarized thusly....excellent flavor but kicks like a bionic mule.

This is a dark rum. Deep, deep toffee amber. Nothing light about this. Of course the O.F.T.D. stands for "old fashioned traditional dark". Definitely a dark rum. No doubt about it.

Has an excellent aroma with a little sting...forewarning of what is to come.

Took me a few sips to get some of a flavor profile because in each sip, once the taste buds detected something, my throat and tongue got a sound thrashing from the 69% ABV (138 proof).

However some of what came across is an initial sweetness...a marked molasses sweetness. It almost was a fiery syrup. Although an overproof, it has a surprising smoothness to it even though there is a strong...not exactly a "burn" per se...but a marked extreme warmth that stays with you for quite a while. I think this would be a sipping rum for the hardcore but for the rest of us this rum would work well in boat drinks. If I remember, I will come back to this later on in my usual Coke Zero & rum combo (which is my normal concoction at home) and amend my review (see below). There is also a creaminess to it as well as a brief cinnamon and vanilla taste to it as well. Some caramel seems to be present as an undertone.

Overall, I have to say this is a recommendable overproof best suited for those rum punches that need a little extra punch. Definitely a good go-to rum for cocktails. Also, reading the label is entertaining as well (although I honestly cannot figure out how they manage to come up with all those intricate flavor profiles...oh, well...I am, at best, an amateur offering my personal measly opinion).

ADDENDUM 4/4/2017: This works exceedingly well in Coke Zero. One must be a little more cautious in how much one adds to the Coke Zero but the flavors mesh quite well. Delicious.

Posted over 2 years ago by Garry Lelliott from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

To be honest, I bought this to make kick ass Cuba libras but found out it stands up on its own, although drinking it neat is on a par with going into an Indian restaurant and ordering the hottest curry on the menu.
Neat, it kicks like a mule, but has a surprising depth and complexity that comes through the alcoholic assault.
Over ice, this rum becomes much easier to drink, letting the oak and molasses shine.
Enjoyable, but handle with care!

Posted over 1 year ago by Mark Ogilvie from United States with 13 ratings

It hits those Jamaican ester notes, but doesn't go overboard with them. It's overproof but drinks like it has a fiery spice instead of like jet fuel. The overripe banana transitions perfectly into those almost dusty dried fruit flavors. There's some interesting tobacco and coffee flavors in there that, when mixed, bloom into a soft chocolatey-ness.

Neat is almost too dense of a flavor, but splash some water in there and you have a wonderful drink. Mix it and it will do wonders.

What a rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

I am quickly learning that the fine folks at Plantation never disappoint!! Nose is like cherry cola on steroids, mellowed out by a bit of butterscotch. High octane aroma, but nothing particularly profound. Palate has plenty of molasses, and some dried fruit character too (we're talking real dried fruit, not your sugar-loaded craisins). Again, all there from the get go, very good, rather one-dimensional. But you know what? This rum OWNS that one dimension!! And besides, you probably won't be sipping your overproof rums, you'll be mixing them, so that bumps this rum up to top notch! Surprise, another winner from Plantation!

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

To me, this felt like the target was a traditional navy rum, in flavor profile, not just ABV. However, it does differ in a couple of respects. I get butterscotch on the nose. A touch of pineapple, buttery and fruity notes, plus that Navy rum twang. This will work very well in a number of cocktails where a strong rum profile is required. A very nice effort, and a good addition to the Plantation line.

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 2 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Oh Fxxk That's Delicious!

Funky/ hogo flavour of Jamaican rum, chocolate fudge and fruity dried fruits along with cooked banana.
2 drops of water, less funky while it enhance the notes of chocolate fudge, coffee, cloves, raisins and woody in the glass.

Funky sour cherry and chocolate with caramel while sipping. Slight burning sensation due to alcohol but acceptable.
2 drops of water, enhance the flavour of caramel, banana and chocolate. Unsweetened banoffee pie.

End with dry finishing and dried fruits. Length was shorter than expectation yet it does provide balance finishing.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Grendelite from United States with 14 ratings

This rum is the best rum I have had in the Planation collection and the most useful overproof I have had the chance to work with. While I do not recommend sipping this rum straight, it is a powerhouse in just about any rum cocktail. Sub in half an ounce (or a whole one if you ain't afraid of some booziness) of this for your next daiquiri and watch your ordinary drink transform into something amazing.

Posted about 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 38 ratings

I can't sipping this but in a Mia Tia or an old fashion this baby shined.. it has a unique after taste I can't seem to figure out.. pair with artisan 3 star plantation rum and simple sugar with a citrus fruit and a splash of cola it really gets you where you're going.

Posted about 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Unlike Plantation's 73% ABV Original Dark Overproof comprised solely of Trinidad rums, O.F.T.D. (Old Fashioned Traditional Dark) is a new 69% ABV blend of rums from Jamaica, Guayana and Barbados. It tastes of burnt caramel, dark molasses and has a smokiness not usually found in rums. While this wouldn't be my first choice for a sipper, I think it will become an indispensable staple for the tiki repertoire.

Posted 6 months ago by Jpotocki from Hungary with 26 ratings

Here we go again. Not only is this rum great tasting, it is rich, ornery, and bold. As a master crafted, affordable overproof it is an indispensable steroid for your home bar and an essential for your local cocktail hang out. Basically with this and a handful of other plantation greats you truly don’t need to go outside the brand to have a vast gambit of tastes from the rum world that potentially can re-define the taste of even your most familiar cocktails. Great buy, great rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by Root-theory from Poland with 45 ratings

Dzisiaj przed Wami fajna ciekawostka jaką jest dość kultowy już rum Plantation O.F.T.D. Jest to rum wzmacniany, pochodzący od znanego nam już na blogu francuskiego bottler'a rumów. Jedną z cech, a raczej najważniejszą oraz najczęściej zauważalną z nich jest moc alkoholu która wynosi równe 69%. Poprzednia odmiana miała ja na poziomie 73% jednak jest już dość trudna do zdobycia. Kolejną cechą jest blend - tutaj producent nie kryje a wręcz uwypukla miejsce pochodzenia składowych destylatów do kupażu - są to Jamajka, Barbados oraz Gujana. Następnie uwagę przykuwa piękna, wysoka i solidna butelka zakończona korkiem. Mieliśmy już z z nią styczność przy okazji degustacji Plantation Original Dark który okazał się dobrym wyborem za rozsądną cenę.

ZAPACH: Dużo toffi, trochę kawy, skórka z pomarańczy, cukierki trufle oraz wyraźny, gryzący w nos alkohol. Zapach jest intensywny oraz słodki

SMAK: Słodycz natychmiastowo przeradza się w rozgrzewające toffi, dalej wyraźna wanilia, beczka wszystko podbite kremem czekoladowym cynamonem oraz melasą. Na koniec trochę nutelli oraz prażonych orzechów. Smak jest intensywny - dodanie lodu uwypukla orzechy oraz beczkę.

Można opisać ten rum jako taki typowy, jakościowy karaibski rum ale ze wzmocnionymi doznaniami. O dziwo alkohol jest obecny ale pozwala odczuwać do tej pory znane mi smaki w zupełnie inny sposób pobudzając moje kubki smakowe do jeszcze bardziej wytężonej pracy. Czy rum jest pijalny? Oczywiście, ale nie jest to trunek łagodny o czym trzeba pamiętać. Jeżeli ktoś się uprze można śmiało zdegustować z lodem - nie udało mi się uzyskać uczucia rozrzedzenia bądź rozwodnienia - z dowolną ilością kostek jest satysfakcjonujący oraz pełny w smaku. Mi udało się wypić w ten sposób jednego drama, potem spróbowałem z drinkiem - i tu kolejne ciekawe doznanie. Z Colą jest super, ale ciężko oraz mocno aromatycznie - spróbujcie tylko nalać sobie taką samą ilość bazy do miksu jaką używacie do storzenia miksu na bazie rum/whisky 40% - zrozumiecie o co mi chodzi :) Także dwa dramy i na tym spokój. Do dziś częstuje jako ciekawostkę znajomych i tu muszę powiedzieć - Plantation O.F.T.D robi wrażenie oraz powoduje uśmiech i kojarzy się z dobra zabawą - w odkrywanie i degustowanie. Za to ma u mnie plus. Dodatkowo butelka szybko nie znika, a fun jak daje powoduje że wcale nie żal wydania dość sporej kwoty.

OCENA: 76/100
https://www.instagram.com/anejomalts/

Posted about 1 year ago by isoppu from Japan with 3 ratings

香:木箱っぽい
味:アルコールは強いが少し甘さもある
強:69度
・ちびちびといける
・きつい時はロックでも良さそう

Posted about 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

Plantation does not disappoint on this one! At 69% this rum has far more complexity then most at far less abv. O.F.T.D. Is defined in my own words as Oh.Fuck.Thats.Delicious. This dark overproof rum makes some kick ass Cuba Libres and painkillers. Would recommend to anyone that wants a cocktail with more oomph.

Posted over 1 year ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

There are many uses for an overproof dark rum in the bar, with classic mixed drinks usually standing as primary. There are few options on the market, with Lemon Hart's 151 as the most famous. They all tend to follow the same scheme: Rich toffee, caramel, cinnamon, and spice with a whole lot of burn and explosiveness. Aromas can be overwhelming... Most have added sugar or molasses, and some form of coloring. The Guyana bottlings tend to be the most famous.

Bearing that in mind, this rum definitely doesn't disappoint, striking all the classic notes with great finesse. The nuances are nice, and tend to show up more when diluted in a tropical cocktail.

I experimented a bit and used it as the base for a Rhum Arrange, and it came out crazy... It was too much for most mixes or even neat, but with ginger beer... oh my.

A good one for the shelf.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alex from Canada with 1 rating

I’m new at rum tasting, so please forgive me for being so shallow. I’ve tried a few rums until now and it’s usually the same commercial stuff: Appleton Estate V/X, Saint James Rhum Agricole, Brugal Ron Anejo, Barcelo Anejo, Abuelo Anejo, Havana Club 7, Bacardi 8... Nothing gets close to Plantation O.F.T.D.

At first, I’d say that it’s not so much for rookies. You have to know a bit about alcohol to be able to enjoy sipping it as is. Whether you come from a whisky, a cognac or a vodka tasting background, this one is nice to have to start with. It has obvious flavors. Obviously, you’ll find the molasses deeply rooted in the liquid. You’ll also find some caramel, some burnt sugar, some dried fruit and maybe some hints of fruit jam.

Some will mix it. Personally, I already have enough of other brands to mix cocktails. This one will remain well hidden behind bottles which are easier to get. I’ll save this liquid for cigar nights. Maybe I’ll add a few drops of water to mellow a bit the taste and find other hidden flavors.

I had the chance to try stuff as Zaya 12 and Zacapa Centenario 23. I can tell you that, even if I’ll have as much fun sipping all of those, I won’t get the same kind of pleasure. While the first two are mellow and easy drinking, full of delicate flavors, the Plantation O.F.T.D. 69 goes straight to the point with no tenderness. If you can hardly handle 40%, don’t go for it. If you can easily handle 40%, you’re good to try something new and you can find it, go for it.

Over here, it’s CAN$40.25 (about US$30.35). According to me (and I will remind you that I’m a rookie), this rhum is worth every penny.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

I recently purchased a Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D. rum as it was highly recommended to me by a SAQ employee. I was leery of purchasing a Plantation rum as most are overly sweetened post distillation, which I don’t enjoy.

This rum comes in at 69% ABV which, in my opinion is too strong to consume neat. My previous experience with overproof rums had been limited to Lemon Hart 151 rum (75% ABV) which I really enjoyed when blended in equal parts with a 40% dry rum (Newfoundland Screech), diluting the concoction to a robust (57.5% ABV) but enjoyable and flavourful blend.

As was the case for the Lemon Hart 151 rum, I sampled the Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D. Rum straight and found it too strong to enjoy as a sipper. Once again, I diluted this rum in equal parts with 40% rum (Newfoundland Screech) lowering the ABV to an acceptable 55.5% and the result is absolutely amazing. This blend, in my humble opinion is as good, if not better than the Lemon Hart 151 blend. The Jamaican funky taste (which I did not enjoy in he Appleton rums) blends well with the Bajan and Trinidad rums that also form part of this delicious rum.

Whether you enjoy sipping on an overproof rum, dilute it with water or another rum, this is definitely worth trying.

At $40.25 CAD in my area this is definitely a worthwhile Purchase.

Posted over 2 years ago by beetleguise from United States with 10 ratings

Little funk, overproof, and value. My only complaint is i find myself want to drink this one neat (i have tried much to my throat's dismay). This one is fun to play around with in cocktails. Its potent enough to do the trick, but has an excellent funky flavor that can enhance your cocktail in more ways than just strength. If you find a bottle, buy it.

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

I had been told this was one of the better rums out there, so I grabbed a bottle. It is a good pour - a lot of heat that melts away into tobacco and molasses with a hint of a sweet finish that has a lingering spice to it.

I would not say it is one of the best rums I have had, but it is a very good pour that I will definitely pick up on occasion. Does not drink like an overproof, and I found it best after letting it air out for a few minutes.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 111 ratings

With some water, it opened up and revealed a nice palet of fruit

Posted almost 3 years ago by rus from United States with 1 rating

Burnt sugar, molasses and pure spirit.
That is all but not enough for great rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

So smooth for being overproof. It has a great funk. Love this in cocktails. It also has a great story behind it. If you're into Tiki drinks this is a must have.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Jamaika, Guyana und Barbados scheinen eine gute Mixtur zu sein,
jedenfalls in diesem Plantation Overproof.
Ein handwerklich perfekt gemachter Rum, ist bei diesem "Blender Team" auch nicht anders zu erwarten.
Ein wunderschönes Mahagoni im Glas.
In der Nase, dunkle Schokolade, dunkles Holz, dunkler Kaffee, dunkle Früchte.
Im Gaumen, oh ja, die 69% sind ein hervorragender Geschmacksträger, feuriges Karamell, feurige Vanille, feurige Schokolade, feurige Früchtchen. Sehr kräftig und doch angenehm.
Im Abgang sehr lecker und mit langanhaltenden subtilen süsse.
Kann durchaus tröpfchenweise pur genossen werden und macht sich gut in jedem Drink.

Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados seem to be a good mixture,
at least in this Plantation Over Proof.
A handmade, perfectly made rum is also to be expected with this "Blender team".
A beautiful mahogany in the glass.
In the nose, dark chocolate, dark wood, dark coffee, dark fruits.
On the palate, oh yes, the 69% is an excellent flavor carrier, fiery caramel, fiery vanilla, fiery chocolate, fiery fruits. Very powerful yet pleasant.
In the finish very tasty and with long-lasting subtle sweetness.
May well be enjoyed as pure droplets and looks great in any drink.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful dark amber color. This very round and hot rum with aromas of dried fruit and vanilla is a superb blend created by experts in rum for bartenders for the creation of exotic cocktails. This version at 69% is a beautiful success. If you search for the definition of this acronym O.F.T.D, look at some comments below ;-)

Posted about 6 hours ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Duft af lidt frugt (hindbær) og lidt lakrids. Den høje alkohol river i næsen og også ved det første sip, hvis man kommer igennem checket finder man hindbær og melasse. Havde frygtet værre, da den egentlig skulle bruges til drinks. Prøvede i Dark'n'Stormy, men det fungerer den ikke til.