Posting your rating...
Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D. rum

Rate Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D.

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


108 Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D. ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Adam Freij from Sweden with 28 ratings

Är ett riktigt fan av plantation och denna gör en ingen besviken.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

Overproof rum is a world on its own, and it is certainly not for the faint of heart. With that being said, if you enjoy the burn, then you will probably love this edition from Plantation.

Nose: Plum, caramel and a light funk infused with banana bread
Taste: Very rich taste of maple, overripe fruit and a nice smoky body. Long warm aftertaste that spreads from the mouth, not only to the throat, but the whole body.
Overall: This rum is really something special. The 69% abv is something, that will scare of some people, and that is understandable, but if you are up for it you will get a tasting experience like no other.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

Didn't know what to expect when I tried this one, but after tasting it, definitely more than I expected. Great flavor profile, amazing after taste, hardly any burn. I will for sure keep this on hand for parties.

Posted over 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

I think I will not get myself on this boat again, but that was a nice experience. Pirates would definitily kill for its power and taste, and strong influence on body;)

Final verdict: Maybe some day I will giv it another shot

Posted over 1 year ago by ALM007 from Germany with 3 ratings

Toller overproof. Explosion im Mund!
Nur pur zu genießen.

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavca.838 from Czech Republic with 7 ratings

Really has a punch... After the initial burn I was very pleasantly surprised by the good and full taste.

Posted over 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 46 ratings

Dark overproof blend consisting of Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados rums. This rum has very interesting history involving the developing group consisting of the most respected tiki bartenders including Martin Cate, and also cocktail historian David Wondrich who was also involved in making the excellent Plantation pineapple.
Nose: strong cinnamon, nutmeg, sweet tropical fruit.
Taste: Strong cinnamon clove and nutmeg, vanilla and light oak. Dark slightly charred molasses.
Demerara rum flavours dominate this overproof blend, jamaican and barbados flavours are just complimentary elements on the taste.
Finish: spicy, quite dry and lightly oaky lots of kick when sipped neat but no alcohol.
From what i have read this rum doesnt have any added sugar in it so extra points for that.
It can be sipped on its own even though it isnt aged(for long at least), has plenty of strong spicy demerara goodness flavour in it.
Is amazing in tiki cocktails. You could replace the cornerstone lemon hart 151(which is almost impossible to find) with this overproof.
Extremely recommended for tiki lovers.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dimitris from Greece with 68 ratings

Some sweetness, spiciness, fruits, thin taste, maybe little dry & after that a huge burn make you say Mexican drink or what?.... Stop read coments dont buy it you drink & pay pure alcohol a marketing fraud....

Posted over 1 year ago by Malei from France with 70 ratings

Cette bouteille est a mon sens la réponse, en toute simplicité, a la question "qu'est ce que le rhum".
Une attaque franche et fraîche , des notes épicées et légèrement caramel.
Une grande réussite a mon sens

Posted over 1 year ago by IceMan from United States with 12 ratings

One of the finest oaked overproof blends, and an incredible value. I picked this up for $26 / liter. It has an incredible high ester note, rich notes of dark caramel, raisins, brown sugar, and a satisfying burn. Diluted half and half with water, it still proves a bit potent for sipping, but that's not the intent in this blend. This is The Go To for all things cocktail. It will leave an indelible mark on cocktails. It is an overproof blend that should be present in any committed rum collection.

Plantation may not make the rum they bottle, but I have yet to find a company that is better at the art of blending.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

I use this to make the Zombie and other tiki drinks that call fir Lemon Hart 151 and Jamaican/demerara blends. I recently made a simple mix with fresh lime juice and sugar syrup and I swear there was cinnamon in the mix but that’s because the lime, ice and sugar mellows out the high proof and lets those notes stand out. Sipping it is only good if you are Gene Simmons and plan to breathe fire!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dan G from United States with 10 ratings

Strong, yet complex in flavor. It’s interesting and as I finiah the bottle hard to really describe. It mixes really well. It’s rally good overall, but not much of a sipper w/ ice.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Glenn from United States with 20 ratings

nose – vanilla, butterscotch
taste – vanilla, leather, cinnamon, toffee

Can stand up on its own versus 151 counterparts. Made Zombies with this and Hamilton 151, very acceptable replacement.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Scott from United States with 3 ratings

This was a pleasant surprise as I was expecting some more burn with the very high proof and lack of an age statement but a great sipping rum for those who like high proof.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Nice aroma -must breath in glas longer time. Too strong to enjoy straight. Heating very long time and dry aftertaste.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Nose not bad for overproof. I put on ice and let it breathe. Not typical gasoline as expected and can be consumed as sipper but not recommended. Had Cuba libre and definitely way to go. It doesn’t have flavor like typical plantation. Overall ok. Prefer something with flavor. If looking for no real bite and extra alcohol mixer this is your drink

Posted almost 2 years ago by True2Rum from United States with 21 ratings

Use it in swizzles as a base rum with Fee falernum. "I'll drink to that" for some recipes. Beautiful to replace Smith & Cross, with an even higher proof. Blends are difficult to analyze, but his one seems to have the right ratios. Don't sip, mix it!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Remy from Netherlands with 42 ratings

Raisin, and some.... more Raisin. If you like Raisin then this may be your rum. For everyone else, just skip this one. You could buy stroh rum just as well.
5/10 (I'm not into raisin as you might have guessed)

Posted about 2 years ago by Yannick from Belgium with 36 ratings

Un rhum de marin qui réchauffe !
Il faut, selon moi, le laisser un peu s'ouvrir dans votre verre avant de commencer à le déguster. C'est donc un rhum puissant en alcool et en arôme.
Débutants, passer votre chemin... vous êtes prévenus !

Posted about 2 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Taste like a better version of Pusser's Blue Label.

Posted about 2 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Cognac overtones wash through to vanilla, nougat aftertastes. Amazingly smooth, a definite sipper. Worth the cost to a T.

Posted about 2 years ago by Örjan from Sweden with 60 ratings

Dark, fruty and powerful rum.
Scent: coffee, orange, plums, jams and tryffles

Posted about 2 years ago by Dean from United States with 6 ratings

Strong banana note, and the sweetness is tempered by a ridiculous amount of alcohol. Not bad at all

Posted about 2 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Great depth. Not as sweet as I was expecting. Would be great in an old fashioned.

Posted about 2 years ago by dl3000 from United States with 7 ratings

This has become my favorite sipper on ice. I find it doesn’t play nice with others in cocktails, with exception. It does make a mean mai tai, but I like it best over a big fat single ice cube as a pre bedtime treat or after dinner digestif. Also, the story on the bottle gets extra points. Keep on killin it plantation.