Posting your rating...
Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D. rum

Rate Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D.

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


109 Plantation Overproof O.F.T.D. ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 8 months ago by je_farley from United States with 100 ratings

I am not a huge fan of most over proof alcohols, mostly burn, a fast drink and limited flavor. The Plantation Overproof OFTD is very different staring with the nose. There is a burn but it is not the dominant player when holding it up. Many different scents come to you and set the expectation for things to come.

There is a burn to the first sip or two but as you continue to sip you begin to get many different flavors coming to your tongue, a very different yet pleasant tasting experience . It is nice to see an overproof anything that you can sip, not just shoot.

Mixed it is marvelous taking away some of that bite and expanding the flavors. A real treat as you try to guess the flavors that are coming out. Works great with Coke, ginger ale and citrus, equally tasty with all.

Have not blended with this yet but know it will be great as a float and with other rums in many a tiki cocktail.

Another addition to my permanent selection from Plantation.

Posted 8 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

This rum is definitely overproof but absurdly smooth and drinkable for 68%. It packs so much deep flavor rather than alcohol burn, with a strong bite that compliments the flavors instead of overwhelming them

Posted 8 months ago by Lucy224 from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I’d have this in any form: neat, with a mixer, in a cocktail. Very difficult to over shadow this bombshell of a drink!

Posted 8 months ago by P.D. from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

You can mix it with something and it will still be a killer. Taste is standard Plantation-style...

Posted 9 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 19 ratings

Being the high-proof whores my better half and I have become we had to try this based on reviews from this site. DID NOT disappoint! WOW! Everything about this one is pretty damn good. Fruity, molasses, toffee nose. Vanilla, caramel on the palate right off the bat then right in to the juicy fruit gum. Banana, pineapple, jack fruit. Yeah... sign me up! Adding 2-3 drops of water to the dram really brings out the fruity notes and makes this dangerously easy to continue sipping neat. Not a fan of the other Plantation offerings due to the sweetness but on this one there seems to be little to no sweetness. We are big fans of Booker's. I would say this is definitely the Booker's of rum. Would actually give this AT LEAST an 8.5 if I could.

Posted 9 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

An overproof rum that taste amazing is a scary thing. It’s great to mix or sip VERY slowly. You don’t need much so it’s an excellent value.

Posted 10 months ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

It's all in the name. Plantation=good rum, Overproof=hot and strong, OFTD

Posted 10 months ago by Tim from Canada with 54 ratings

Can it compete with the trusty lemon hart 151? Yes! In fact, this is sippable... mind you, you’ll get messed right up...

Posted 11 months ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

This is certainly a rum that should be in every cocktail makers cabinet and will be firmly added into mine wonderful flexibility

Posted 12 months ago by Ubernewt from Canada with 10 ratings

sure I do not need to review around that is so highly acclaimed. Has a nice thick dark color and a fantastic taste so many delicious types of molasses and dark flavoring. you just have to be careful as the high percentage that sneak up on you.

Posted 12 months ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This is a strong manly rum, it is excellent as an addition to any rum and coke and gives you a full mouth flavor of deliciousness. Great Tiki Rum and goes well as an addition to any rum drink for an extra boost.

Posted 12 months ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

This is strong on the nose and a kick when tasted neat. As flavourful as it is potent, this powerhouse hints at molasses, burnt caramel and smoke. A balanced, long finish. Best enjoyed as a cocktail and too many rum and cokes are quite tippy.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 31 ratings

Excellent cocktail rum with great nose & flavor. Not exactly one you’d want to sip on but it is one of my most frequently-used rums when making cocktails. Absolute must-have in my bar!

Posted about 1 year ago by Reinfinity from United States with 10 ratings

This rum is amazing! It burns like hell but has the most amazing flavor. Love it!

Posted about 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

The nose is quite pleasant, not hot like one would expect. Caramel and molasses with warming alcohol. Fruity. The sweet aromas are subdued.
The flavor is a different ballgame! Very warming boarding on hot but low and behold a lot of flavor as well. Sweet molasses, hints of vanilla and oak. Not what I would call a sipper by any means but cut with water or on the rocks it may be considered by some. Not for the faint of heart in this context. Long softly bitter aftertaste that is quite enjoyable.
An excellent mixer when used in cocktails requiring an over proof rum. Plenty of pure rum character but not as hot or lacking in character as other readily available 'big name' over proof or '151' rums. I have yet to experience Hamilton 151 or Lemon Hart but these seem to be the only other over proofs that compare based on reviews.
If you're looking for a great over proof to use in 'tiki' drinks or other rum cocktails this is a great choice as it has great rum flavor and wonderful aromatics. For the price ($27 for a liter in Ohio-2019) it's hard to argue the value. A wholehearted thumbs up!
As an addendum the Plantation website stipulates 16 g/L dosage so it definitely has some sugar added. Not a sugar bomb by any means but I think it actually helps bring out the cursory aromatics that may be lost in the alcohol otherwise. I like the fact that Plantation is transparent in their dosage. It's not deceptive as in the case with other distiller/bottlers.
9/19- I find that like this on it's own more and more. A cube of ice is all it needs if you're looking for something big, bold and full of flavor give this a shot. Still, not for the faint of heart!

Posted about 1 year ago by DoctorFong from United States with 9 ratings

Fantastic flavors and very strong. Sip slowly. Wondering if there is anything like it at a lesser proof

Posted about 1 year ago by Jd from France with 41 ratings

Waouh !!! Quelle puissance en bouche. Laissez le s'aerer pour savourer cette explosion en bouche. Attention 69 degrés tout de même

Posted about 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

...That overproof needed to prove something. It's nice and heavy on the Jamaican, Guyanese and Barbadian flavors: Some cane morass funk, Latin flavors in the buttery vanilla and cocoa spectrums and that sweet molasses tar candy. The high proof makes it dangerous, as this could easily be in the sipping category with a touch of demerara syrup, but that's exactly why this is a stellar mixing component. Not quite the scorch of 151-territory overproofs, but beyond the exciting 59º agricoles of Marie-Galante, OFTD has the remarkable power to respectfully elevate a tiki cocktail without overdriving the balance of flavors and alcohol if judiciously implemented.

I've been enjoying this with a mix of cachaça, agave syrup, 1/4 - 1/2 lime squeeze and seltzer on the rocks. If there were only lemons, and an amaro was around, I'd substitute that for the agave, or give this a dash of bitters.

Posted about 1 year ago by 5691Aa (PREMIUM) from United States with 22 ratings

I like this rum. For an overstrength rum, it's a good sipper on the rocks. Be thoughtful when mixing, this can be a brute and mug your mixer. Use extra mixer/less rum to account for overproof strength. Nice molasses flavor, great in dark & stormy

Posted over 1 year ago by stonytokes from United States with 12 ratings

This recently became available in my area for $34US/Liter. Finally! Having consumed a bottle over the past couple of months I can say that this will be a stock item in my cabinet. Dark, rich, funky molasses goodness with punch that makes a knockout Cuba Libre. Exceptional bang for the buck and unsugared unlike many of Plantation's offerings...

Posted over 1 year ago by Van Cauwenbergh from Belgium with 12 ratings

The almost 70% kicks you like hell on the first sip. But with a cube of ice and some perseverance you tast the complex flavor of burnt sugar, tropical fruit. The after tast becomes dry and woody with a touch of chocolate.

Posted over 1 year ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 17 -20 GPL. Wow, does this ever sneak up on you! Wonderful aroma and taste but look out for the punch that comes with it. Burnt Sugar, dark chocolate, vanilla and raisins are the major flavours that I found. It's very smooth and you can drink it straight up but make sure you have a glass of water nearby to put out the fire. As a mixer this would be awesome. I would have more to say about that except that it's not available in Ontario and I was limited to just a taste at an out of town rum bar. It's on the shopping list for sure. You need to have one in your bar for the bold drinkers.

Posted over 1 year ago by Matje from Netherlands with 23 ratings

Niet goed gelezen en de 69% over het hoofd gezien, weggeblazen door de krachtige maar toch subtiele smaak. Simpelweg teveel alchohol om als sipper te drinken. Op aanraden van een andere user hier de combo met Coke Zero geprobeerd en die is inderdaad verbluffend goed. Alleen is dat niet helemaal waar ik naar op zoek ben en is de fles eigenlijk ook wat duur voor.

Posted over 1 year ago by Adam Freij from Sweden with 28 ratings

Är ett riktigt fan av plantation och denna gör en ingen besviken.