Posting your rating...
Rhum JM Calvados Cask Finish rum

Rhum JM Calvados Cask Finish

Martinique | Aged

8.5/10 (13 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
5
3

Rate Rhum JM Calvados Cask Finish

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


13 Rhum JM Calvados Cask Finish ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2650 ratings

Visited the Rhum JM distillery while vacationing in Martinique. Self guided distillery tour ended with an open tasting bar. Rhum JM Calvados Cask was priced at EUR 45 per bottle at the distillery. Very nice and sturdy bottle design with a great old school label. Golden color. Traditional super dry Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with plenty of grass, apples and floral notes to the nose and palate. Surprisingly strong burn at the end since its so dry. Rhum Agricole fan boys can easily add 2 points to my score.

F1325f2b46849d60e3e81b33198ddd28.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Tres bon rhum dont on sent le finish contrairement a la version cognac et armagnac.le gout calvados se sent.la pomme revient en fruit et compoté sur une base rhum doux.c est un regal.c est ma version preferee des 3 finish de la marque.il faut aimer les rhums doux.A essayer absolument.59e a la distillerie.

3388c2933515246cf2aeca3d9bd4cd38.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Remi from France with 39 ratings

Moi qui n'aime pas le calva j'ai adoré ce finish. Certains disent que c'est pas la meilleure des 3 finish mais perso j'adore

F087b7c7c00c79ec90c5b2400a24e077.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by mankri from Hungary with 33 ratings

An agricole rum, ageing finished in a calvados cask, what gives the special taste of fresh apple. Simply great

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 355 ratings

Giess dir ein Gläschen ein und beginne mit der Reise.
Honigfarbenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase wechseln die Düfte von Minute zu Minute. Zu Beginn riechts wie saurer Most mit Alkohol aufgepeppt. Danach wird es elegant und harmonischer, zartes Karamell und verregnetes Moos. Schokolade bringt den Wechsel zum Medizinischen und die süssen fruchtigen zu den holzig-herben.
Am Gaumen zart und lieblich und doch auch wild und ungestüm. Eine Blumenwiese mit Apfelbäumen, dahinter beginnt das grosse Zuckerrohr Feld. Ein Karamellfluss mit Vanille-Schoko Booten und glasierten Apfel-Bojen ergänzen das Bild.
Im Abgang wunderbar lang und erzeugen ein tolle Retrospektive, der Calvados kommt natürlich nicht zu kurz.
Ein absolut hervorragender Rhum der Agricole-Liebhaber verzückt und Entdecker lockt.

Pour yourself a glass and start your journey.
Honey-coloured amber in a glass.
In the nose the scents change from minute to minute. At the beginning it smells like sour must spiced up with alcohol. Then it becomes elegant and harmonious, delicate caramel and rainy moss. Chocolate brings the change to the medicinal and the sweet fruity to the woody-tart.
On the palate it is tender and sweet and yet also wild and impetuous. A flower meadow with apple trees, behind it begins the big sugar cane field. A caramel river with vanilla-chocolate boats and glazed apple buoys complete the picture.
In the finish wonderfully long and create a great retrospective, the Calvados is of course not missed out.
An absolutely outstanding rhum that enchants agricultural lovers and entices discoverers.

C8ec1dc162ffe17ecaad0fd3dfed538b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Price: 60+ euro per 0,5L bottle.

Tell me, how much rum (excuse moi, -Rhum) do you already try? I’m sure, not much. Or. None.

This amazing treasure comes from Martinique. It’s small Caribbean island, which was before French colony. And today this small island still produces French-style Rhum. And if you buy it - you do one small, but important step for help to save this historical treasure. Because almost in rest of world part Rum produces from molasses, and only French style Rhums are from sugar cane juice. They are different, trust me. And your french comes much better, when bottle ends.

Taste:
At first on nose you find this rhum very aromatic and fruity, less sweet and spicy. On palate it show’s you much dry notes, for sure Oak, wet leather, coal. Also you will find strong ‘tart’ notes. This Rhum is very complex and interesting. It changes every time in new role, when you try it once more... Give him time and now it comes up with much sweeter notes on nose. Toffee and honey. On palate it’s still tart and now, but not much - sour. But it’s not kind of citrus. Grapes and green apples.
Aftertaste is beautiful and long. Rhum is well balanced, and no alcohol burn at all.
Must to say, it reminded me Foursquare Zinfandel because of his astringency.

I try my bottle Nr. 668/937 (only!)
And I won’t more...

02780ec6ab1534127d9e9e8ed97c5801.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by SylvieG from Belgium with 23 ratings

Salon du Rhum Spa 2018 - pas mauvais mais sans plus

4eee588e2e669fe83adefd40dd119241.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Johnny from Belgium with 10 ratings

Lucky I didn't buy this one in a store where I could taste it, because I wouldn't have bought it. At first taste I thought it wasn't my cup of tea. But then came the aftertaste that was quite pleasant...

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

With a beautiful amber color, the calvados finish is very present. The apple dominates all the aromatic notes. Vanilla is also present. On the palate, this rum is very sweet, goes very well with a final not very long. Rather a rum aperitif than a digestive. Tasted the 2017 version, cask 2.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I'm generally not a fan of Rhum J.M. (though I really like the Cuvee du Fondateur!) But this is a good one!

Smells and tastes of agricole, with a nice touch of calvados. Better than I expected from Rhum J.M.!