Posting your rating...
Flor de Cana Gran Reserve 7-Year rum

Flor De Cana Gran Reserve 7 is produced in Nicaragua using a three-column still process. Distilled according to a precise recipe, the rum is aged for seven years in charred oak barrels that previously held Jack Daniels Tennessee Whiskey.

Flor De Cana is part of the Grupo Pellas, Compañia Licorera de Nicaragua, SA. The name, Flor De Cana, means “flower of the sugarcane.

Rate Flor de Cana Gran Reserve 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


243 Flor de Cana Gran Reserve 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Its subtly complex and certainly dry, with a dusty oak presence and a bit of a soured finish. As with the younger expressions, I like it best with fruit juices.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Does not seem to be sweetened like so many "aged" rums, so might not appeal to fans of Zacapa and the like. Subtle flavors of smoke, tobacco, leather, dark fruits. It can often be found for under $20 at which price it is a good bargain.

Posted about 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

This is my go to rum. No tricks or gimmicks here. Inexpensive. Good to drink straight up. I prefer with a little ice and lime. Rum to ya!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

While not as complex as the 12 & 18 yr, FdC 7 yr is smooth enough to drink neat. This dry rum may not suit those who prefer artificially sugared rums but for me the notes of caramel, vanilla and oak blend well enough to make this a decent sipping rum.

Posted about 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I first found the 7 year several years ago when I was returning from Aruba. I've since limited myself to the 18 year and mixed with the Extra Dry 4 year. I just found a bottle of this in Kentucky and I realized how much I liked it as an every day sipper. Good middle of the road sipper.

Posted about 4 years ago by Michelle from Belgium with 3 ratings

The first rum I tasted on it's own, and still one of my favourites. Good enough to drink straight, but you wouldn't feel bad about putting in some ice, a slice of lemon or, why not, a dash of coca cola (but only a dash). Flor de Caña always keeps its distinct molasses-taste, also in this younger brother of the family.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

This is my standard rum of choice. Oddly enough, I found it mixed best with sweet tea.

Posted about 2 years ago by Halsey from United States with 25 ratings

Light to medium color. Delicate honey nose, very pleasant. This is a really nice, fairly light bodies sipper. A friend gave this to me, and having had the 12 (not wildly impressed) I expected little. Needless to say I'm surprised at how pleasant it is. A nice caramel touch up front, with a short fruit finish. I actually wouldn't recommend this for mixing as its charms would be buried. Not a world calss sipper, but for the money, you can't miss.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Aged for 7 years, Flor de Cana Gran Reserve offers the option of drinking it neat or mixing it in a cocktail or with coke. With a price tag of about $20, you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for a satisfactory rum either.
Think about trying the other fine rums in the Flor de Cana family as well! You can't go wrong...CHEERS!

Posted about 2 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I like this rum, not real smooth but nice robust flavor and makes a good Rum and Coke. Decent drinking compared to the 18 year which i was a bit disjointed with.

Posted over 2 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Natural tasting rum with a grassy Agricole-like base flavor and some mild aged flavors like vanilla and oak over the top. I do mean mild when I say mild. This has a little more bite than the 12 yr and maybe a little more flavor as well but it's still a light simple tasting rum without much sweetness or any particular flavor popping out at you. I can say that it tastes like rum and not a bourbon or sweet wine finish. Ok to sip and excellent mixer.Update: i had some again recently and the flavor is kind of blah to me at thia point, i taste predominantly charcoal and a bit of sweetness. Im now calling this the vodka of rums cuz thats what it tastes like.

Posted about 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Having first familiarized myself with Havana Club 7, I assumed FdC 7 would be similar (direct competitors, even). Tasting this one, and then both side by side, I was surprised to find that they are remarkably different! While the HC is rich, oaky, and smokey, this FdC is rather lighter-bodied... off-sweet, with notes of vanilla and caramel. To me, the Flor de Caña is like a dryer version of the candy-like Plantation Barbados 5! (Which can only be a good thing.) However, it also has some off-putting high-notes at first pour.

So, although I'm a little disappointed not to have found a HC doppelgänger state-side, and am no longer sure quite what flavor profile to look for when a classic recipe calls for Spanish-style/Puerto Rican rum, I'm satisfied with my purchase and enjoying mixing with it very much.

Kudos for FdC for not adulterating their rums with gobs of sugar! I may decide to use this as my go-to Gold/Spanish-style column-distilled aged rum, with Mt. Gay Eclipse (which is blended) as a budget back-up.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

Very appealing 's a sipper. Mixes very well and is a good rum to have in the cabinet. It's quality belies the price point it is at.

Posted about 4 years ago by Emmanuel from Sweden with 11 ratings

On the rocks this is a winner, without ice its a bit rough.
Very good as a drink mixer!

Posted over 4 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

I hate this rum because anytime I open a bottle it just gone! Magic.

This my favorite rum and my friends have the same oppinion, it is good sipping and just exploited with mixing; cubata, floridita, punch, maitai all of them are special with this single state rum

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Very similar to the 12yo, but with a comparatively needed lack of smoothness. A steal of a price too.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 0 gpl. This is a very good rum for mixed drinks. I tried this several times which means I drank several bottles of this for mixed drinks. It's good value for the money and as a Gold Rum it is my go to for mixing.

Posted over 5 years ago by The Sticky Green from United States with 4 ratings

Decent rum for the price. its a good mixer although it could def use some improvement, to smooth out the alcohol taste. its a good everyday rum and better than most others for the price. Dont know if I want to keep buying this one might switch to Appleton V/X

Posted almost 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 40 ratings

Very smooth and deep taste for a very reasonable price, one of the finest aged rums to date for me!

Posted almost 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

While you can enjoy this rum on the rocks, it's not complex enough to justify sipping on it's own. But it will clearly make your Cuba Libres better than your standard Bacardi or Havana Club.

Posted about 6 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

This was my go-to for budget mixing rum for many years. Smooth flavor that goes great in coke or other mixers, and just couple dollars more than captain. I still get a bottle every once in a while, amazing rum for the price! It's acceptable on the rocks, but I feel it really shines as a mixer.

Posted about 7 years ago by rafeener from Canada with 25 ratings

Very similar to other aged. Great with darl cola for an all night drink. Smooth with creamy Oak flavors.

Posted over 7 years ago by Newf from Canada with 5 ratings

Not as nice as the 12 or 18 but still a really nice rum on the rocks or with coke

Posted about 16 hours ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 20 ratings

It's both a good sipper with some ice and it's perfect for a rum and coke.

Posted 15 days ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

Typically found for $25 in my area, this rum makes a fantastic smooth everyday sipper and also finds it's way into many of my Mai Thais and aged Daiquiris.