Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year rum

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


246 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Okay to start I like the bottle of Flor De Cana, its simple but that is what makes it nice so its a good addition to a collection. Flor De Cana is a nice amber color in the bottle. Opening it smells like raspberries to be honest, raspberries some faint cask smell and that's about it, no real alcohol smell. In a glass it smells more like alcohol and that's about it. So sipping is rough its harsh upfront bite and then stops and then gives a hello im back again bite. Hard to zone in on a flavour when being kicked in the balls then helped back up and kicked right again by the guy who helped you. Its very dry alcohol, the cask taste is there but not in the extent of woodsiness that I enjoy. Some sweetness but nothing bold. In all honest its a super simple rum. A harsh simple rum, wouldn't recommend sipping. in diet coke it keeps much of its simpleness but has a nice amount of sweetness with a some bitterness in the aftertaste (which some could enjoy). I would rate this rum higher but there are better options for its price that have far surpassed it in taste smoothness and complexity.

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Does not seem to be sweetened like so many "aged" rums, so might not appeal to fans of Zacapa and the like. Subtle flavors of smoke, tobacco, leather, dark fruits. It can often be found for under $20 at which price it is a good bargain.

36cd9dca36777d7b6e9b37817da07d59.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

This is my go to rum. No tricks or gimmicks here. Inexpensive. Good to drink straight up. I prefer with a little ice and lime. Rum to ya!

Ec2492d5580637b8ff3a6654e0841e5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

While not as complex as the 12 & 18 yr, FdC 7 yr is smooth enough to drink neat. This dry rum may not suit those who prefer artificially sugared rums but for me the notes of caramel, vanilla and oak blend well enough to make this a decent sipping rum.

3d47552e1a3e6da6f980f4fc9d8295d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I first found the 7 year several years ago when I was returning from Aruba. I've since limited myself to the 18 year and mixed with the Extra Dry 4 year. I just found a bottle of this in Kentucky and I realized how much I liked it as an every day sipper. Good middle of the road sipper.

0d1b553bd1ea7fb1d41290f0b7dda910.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Michelle from Belgium with 3 ratings

The first rum I tasted on it's own, and still one of my favourites. Good enough to drink straight, but you wouldn't feel bad about putting in some ice, a slice of lemon or, why not, a dash of coca cola (but only a dash). Flor de Caña always keeps its distinct molasses-taste, also in this younger brother of the family.

C3abaccd6aa534da6d84010317410f46.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

This is my standard rum of choice. Oddly enough, I found it mixed best with sweet tea.

9354c42e64180c5b4f8d1b44706ebe13.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Halsey from United States with 25 ratings

Light to medium color. Delicate honey nose, very pleasant. This is a really nice, fairly light bodies sipper. A friend gave this to me, and having had the 12 (not wildly impressed) I expected little. Needless to say I'm surprised at how pleasant it is. A nice caramel touch up front, with a short fruit finish. I actually wouldn't recommend this for mixing as its charms would be buried. Not a world calss sipper, but for the money, you can't miss.

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Aged for 7 years, Flor de Cana Gran Reserve offers the option of drinking it neat or mixing it in a cocktail or with coke. With a price tag of about $20, you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for a satisfactory rum either.
Think about trying the other fine rums in the Flor de Cana family as well! You can't go wrong...CHEERS!

B137f73cad20358ef2f866b5e883cc19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I like this rum, not real smooth but nice robust flavor and makes a good Rum and Coke. Decent drinking compared to the 18 year which i was a bit disjointed with.

37888dc4222fcd1104aab5e202358377.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Natural tasting rum with a grassy Agricole-like base flavor and some mild aged flavors like vanilla and oak over the top. I do mean mild when I say mild. This has a little more bite than the 12 yr and maybe a little more flavor as well but it's still a light simple tasting rum without much sweetness or any particular flavor popping out at you. I can say that it tastes like rum and not a bourbon or sweet wine finish. Ok to sip and excellent mixer.Update: i had some again recently and the flavor is kind of blah to me at thia point, i taste predominantly charcoal and a bit of sweetness. Im now calling this the vodka of rums cuz thats what it tastes like.