Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year rum
Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year rum

Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

6.6/10 (247 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
6
22
65
97
41
6
4

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


247 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

I've never had the sensation of a spicy pop before like I had with this Flor de Cana. It's interesting, but the fun wears off quickly and it simply turns too spicy with little remaining flavoring. Short finish with an earthy pine type taste.

7e14f4e834014ce3face114bec89f233.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

Available full time in Ontario, this is my “usual”. Poured on an ice cube is good, but a little cola or OJ is better.

C5a053416979bc0774ce2efee9e34a51.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Timtrash from Hong Kong with 4 ratings

Picked up a bottle of this at airport duty free and I am rumming while reviewing! Mixing with a little slash of coke and a slice of lemon. Not too sweet, not harsh at all. Recommended as an affordable cabinet rum.

5f8159f179b5d1a4dd878775ce1e89e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

Good price
Good taste
Solid mixer
Flor de Cana 7 smooth easy drinking
Every day rum
Keep on shelf to share

9cbe9f36448645a6a9e59d5ad5b3aa50.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Backwatertech from United States with 11 ratings

Sweet and fairly smooth. Definitely not bad for the price

48272a0289cc25b0b3f83389a7d36835.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Alejo from Argentina with 29 ratings

Smooth rum, enjoyable on the rocks. Too good for mixers, nevertheless quality cuba libres.

D04d022698db53c0fbd6e82c593ca574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

Prefer this to Havana 7, and it’s easier to find...

EDIT: After having spent 10 days in Nicaragua, I’ve got a better appreciation for this expression. The base distillate from FdC is nothing to write home about, but they really shine with their aged rums, which indicates their barreling process is where it’s at. Their 7 year is a shining example of this; in my opinion, the best balance of flavor, strength and value. The complexity in flavor only increases from aged expressions from here on, with incremental changes imparting more mellowing tones akin to aged bourbons and whiskeys.

7 is best sipped, excellent unmasked in a spirit-forward cocktail and easy on the palate at 35% ABV. I’m unclear if there is dosage or if the barrel is charred, thus imparting sucrose from the caramelized wood, to add sweetness, but it’s literally just a perceptible touch to taste, and completely welcome when compared to Diplomático, Zacapa or Dictador. On that note, it’s an even better value and closer to a less adulterated example of this style aged rum. Totally unpretentious and versatile, 7 is a great starting point for getting into rum, experimenting with cocktails, cooking, pairing and sharing. It outdoes itself as an entry level rum and exemplar of Nicaraguan rum.

Ebc8a98110a85a80e7bd31ef0aa5d056.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 41 ratings

It's an everyday rum, not sweetened, it's good enough to sip neat, doesn't pretend to be something else.

13fcc8a19ff09366f4f4061ee23829c5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by KaroHolmberg from Finland with 1 rating

As I want to make drinks and mixes, this was one of my favourite as a basic RumCola. Nothing extra, just plain clear taste.

82aad178174b1b66fa6614fdb923f658.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Longjohnsilver from Italy with 44 ratings

Non eccelso come i fratelli piú invecchiati ha dalla sua un incredibile rapporto qualità/prezzo

41a8bc109b43ac7cb2ea8f08359dbc98.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by rumdrinker99 from United States with 7 ratings

I used to be a captains drinker and after trying this I am a 7 year Flor De Cana and soda with orange drinker. Best tasting rum I have ever tried.