Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year rum

Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

6.6/10 (254 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
6
23
67
100
42
6
4

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


254 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

I've never had the sensation of a spicy pop before like I had with this Flor de Cana. It's interesting, but the fun wears off quickly and it simply turns too spicy with little remaining flavoring. Short finish with an earthy pine type taste.

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Having first familiarized myself with Havana Club 7, I assumed FdC 7 would be similar (direct competitors, even). Tasting this one, and then both side by side, I was surprised to find that they are remarkably different! While the HC is rich, oaky, and smokey, this FdC is rather lighter-bodied... off-sweet, with notes of vanilla and caramel. To me, the Flor de Caña is like a dryer version of the candy-like Plantation Barbados 5! (Which can only be a good thing.) However, it also has some off-putting high-notes at first pour.

So, although I'm a little disappointed not to have found a HC doppelgänger state-side, and am no longer sure quite what flavor profile to look for when a classic recipe calls for Spanish-style/Puerto Rican rum, I'm satisfied with my purchase and enjoying mixing with it very much.

Kudos for FdC for not adulterating their rums with gobs of sugar! I may decide to use this as my go-to Gold/Spanish-style column-distilled aged rum, with Mt. Gay Eclipse (which is blended) as a budget back-up.

59cfb48d4299e808b382df8fa215ef9a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Lawson from United States with 60 ratings

Very appealing 's a sipper. Mixes very well and is a good rum to have in the cabinet. It's quality belies the price point it is at.

E76a48e5e533dbd9327d856026104513.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Emmanuel from Sweden with 11 ratings

On the rocks this is a winner, without ice its a bit rough.
Very good as a drink mixer!

Fc0feb1a9301c96b069671247e34a454.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

I hate this rum because anytime I open a bottle it just gone! Magic.

This my favorite rum and my friends have the same oppinion, it is good sipping and just exploited with mixing; cubata, floridita, punch, maitai all of them are special with this single state rum

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Very similar to the 12yo, but with a comparatively needed lack of smoothness. A steal of a price too.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: 0 gpl. This is a very good rum for mixed drinks. I tried this several times which means I drank several bottles of this for mixed drinks. It's good value for the money and as a Gold Rum it is my go to for mixing.

170765d5aaf80d603827b20722b4ec03.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by The Sticky Green from United States with 4 ratings

Decent rum for the price. its a good mixer although it could def use some improvement, to smooth out the alcohol taste. its a good everyday rum and better than most others for the price. Dont know if I want to keep buying this one might switch to Appleton V/X

Fd825f08bb8833fbc1f1f835cea6eab9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 41 ratings

Very smooth and deep taste for a very reasonable price, one of the finest aged rums to date for me!

Ac87e0556b4c8034515926b3e4e7f445.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

While you can enjoy this rum on the rocks, it's not complex enough to justify sipping on it's own. But it will clearly make your Cuba Libres better than your standard Bacardi or Havana Club.

Ee9838836519cd539b0dcbab5771c048.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

This was my go-to for budget mixing rum for many years. Smooth flavor that goes great in coke or other mixers, and just couple dollars more than captain. I still get a bottle every once in a while, amazing rum for the price! It's acceptable on the rocks, but I feel it really shines as a mixer.