Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year rum

Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

6.5/10(276 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
8
26
77
104
44
7
4

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

276 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

If you're new get this rum.It's a great introduction to sipping and aged rum. Instead of adding water or ice to help you appreciate this, try leaving some in a glass for a few hours or overnight before consuming.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

I like all of the Flor de Cana products, they are solid and tend to be good values for their prices and over deliver. The Gran Reserve 7 is not my favorite FdC product but it is my favorite value from FdC. It sips well if in cold temps or hot and the price for the quality is hard to match.

Bottle: Tasteful appearance, old school charm.
Color: Light brown.
Bottle Smell: Vanilla comes first, some sweetness, the alcohol, and a hint of oak.
Glass: It doesn't change much except to lose some of the sweetness and show its age characters and become a solid oak aged rum.
Taste: Smooth, good oil levels allow you to taste the rum aged oak the label tells you to expect, typical caramel, vanilla hints and a not unpleasant throat.

This is a solid, good quality rum that is not far below in quality than bottles sold for more. This is my go to rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

Not bad to drink alone but too expensive to use for mix

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst: Nicaragua
Abv: 40%
Fles: 25cl tube
Aroma: hout,.tabak karamel
Smaak: zacht, droog,.zoetig tabak, karamel
Nasmaak: droog. karamel, kruiden.

Lekkere rum, maar doe mij de Havana Club 7 maar.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Kurt from Afghanistan with 1 rating

For me the 7 years old Flor de Cana is drinkable only mixed up, because he tastes in the finish like cheap hooch. Except the finish it is ok.
Chears

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

a nice sweet almost bourbon flavoured rum, nice with coke and lime.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

Nothing that sets the world on fire, but by the same token, there's not much wrong with it either. Smooth enough, but lacks kick and length so over all is a little bit bleh!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 314 ratings

Flor de Caňa je firma z Nikaraguy, založená v roce 1937 společností Compañía Licorera de Nicaragua.V překladu Flor de Caña znamená "květ cukrové třtiny".
Měl jsem k ochutnávce zakoupenou lahev Grand Reserve starou 7 let, která se u nás prodává asi za 390,-Kč.
Rum se prodává v elegantní lahvi.Vyrábí se z melasy a sedm let zrání v dubových sudech o objemu 180 litrů, které byly předtím jen jednou použity, se projevilo pěknou mahagonovou barvou.
Aroma: Ve vůni dominuje alkohol, cítíte také trochu karamel.
Chuť: Na jazyku najdete jakousi máslová příchuť, opět karamel, snad i trocha papřovosti, bohužel pro mě, chuť celkově není ničím zajímavá, řekl bych až fádní a od sedmiletého rumu jsem opravdu čekal něco více.
Dokončení je alkoholově teplé, trochu kořenité.
Shrnutí: Suma sumárum se z tohoto kousku vyklubalo mé první rumové zklamání.
Hodnotím 65 bodů, nemůžu si pomoct, po lepší kvalitě se u této firmy budu případně muset porozhlédnout ve vyšší kategorii, třeba 12y za 745,-, nebo Gold 18 za 1333,-.
Body: 65

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

Fellow rum enthusiasts may not agree with me, but I enjoy Flor de Cana in mixed drinks, especially Mojitos. I get such great joy ordering up a Flor de Cana Mojito at a bar when it's available. Depending on the bartender, you may be reminded that traditional Mojitos are made with white rum. Never fear to have something new.

Flor de Cana is smooth, smells great, slightly boozy, and can costs about $30 depending on where you do. If you are willing to pay $30 for a dark rum, there are other good options depending on if you want to sip or mix. I would advise you to spend no more than that on Flor de Cana.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Robin BERTHIER from Belgium with 21 ratings

I can enjoy a glass of this during a hot summers evening with an ice cube!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 4 ratings

Definitely better than house rum... but not my favorite for sipping or mixing. Its got a little too much bite for me to sip, but the other flavors overpower a mix a little bit. Still very drinkable... and very preferred over cheap/common labels.