Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year rum

Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

6.5/10(276 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
8
26
77
104
44
7
4

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

276 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

If you're new get this rum.It's a great introduction to sipping and aged rum. Instead of adding water or ice to help you appreciate this, try leaving some in a glass for a few hours or overnight before consuming.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

Example of an average rum which is actually not so bad but there is nothing special in it.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

I wouldn't drink this one straight either. I'd personally step down to the 4yr Extra Dry if I wanted a mixer, or I'd step up to the 12/18yr old, if I wanted a more complex sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Okay to start I like the bottle of Flor De Cana, its simple but that is what makes it nice so its a good addition to a collection. Flor De Cana is a nice amber color in the bottle. Opening it smells like raspberries to be honest, raspberries some faint cask smell and that's about it, no real alcohol smell. In a glass it smells more like alcohol and that's about it. So sipping is rough its harsh upfront bite and then stops and then gives a hello im back again bite. Hard to zone in on a flavour when being kicked in the balls then helped back up and kicked right again by the guy who helped you. Its very dry alcohol, the cask taste is there but not in the extent of woodsiness that I enjoy. Some sweetness but nothing bold. In all honest its a super simple rum. A harsh simple rum, wouldn't recommend sipping. in diet coke it keeps much of its simpleness but has a nice amount of sweetness with a some bitterness in the aftertaste (which some could enjoy). I would rate this rum higher but there are better options for its price that have far surpassed it in taste smoothness and complexity.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Stubbs from United States with 5 ratings

This by far my 2nd favorite rum. Just enough aging to give it complexity not to long to make it over oakie.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 26 ratings

It is so strong, smooth, with flavours, great rum :) Enjoy

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

its a superb rum to mix with coke or sprite my favourite one

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I found this rum to be decent taken straight up. It has its edges to it but still for this price it is not just for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Best option from cheap rums (together with Malteco 10).
Not so harsh, full, taste like older than 7y.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Scott Stephen from France with 11 ratings

I have trouble understanding how this rum can have such a good rating. I found this rum almost undrinkable, even mixed. Overly strong attack, and even very strong over time, even to the point of bad after-taste. Perhaps I got a bad bottle ?

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Makes a top shelf rum and coke. Great value in handle bottle.