Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year rum

Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

6.5/10 (266 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
6
25
74
101
44
6
4

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


266 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva - 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

I like all of the Flor de Cana products, they are solid and tend to be good values for their prices and over deliver. The Gran Reserve 7 is not my favorite FdC product but it is my favorite value from FdC. It sips well if in cold temps or hot and the price for the quality is hard to match.

Bottle: Tasteful appearance, old school charm.
Color: Light brown.
Bottle Smell: Vanilla comes first, some sweetness, the alcohol, and a hint of oak.
Glass: It doesn't change much except to lose some of the sweetness and show its age characters and become a solid oak aged rum.
Taste: Smooth, good oil levels allow you to taste the rum aged oak the label tells you to expect, typical caramel, vanilla hints and a not unpleasant throat.

This is a solid, good quality rum that is not far below in quality than bottles sold for more. This is my go to rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Does not seem to be sweetened like so many "aged" rums, so might not appeal to fans of Zacapa and the like. Subtle flavors of smoke, tobacco, leather, dark fruits. It can often be found for under $20 at which price it is a good bargain.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

This is my go to rum. No tricks or gimmicks here. Inexpensive. Good to drink straight up. I prefer with a little ice and lime. Rum to ya!

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted over 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 160 ratings

While not as complex as the 12 & 18 yr, FdC 7 yr is smooth enough to drink neat. This dry rum may not suit those who prefer artificially sugared rums but for me the notes of caramel, vanilla and oak blend well enough to make this a decent sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I first found the 7 year several years ago when I was returning from Aruba. I've since limited myself to the 18 year and mixed with the Extra Dry 4 year. I just found a bottle of this in Kentucky and I realized how much I liked it as an every day sipper. Good middle of the road sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Michelle from Belgium with 3 ratings

The first rum I tasted on it's own, and still one of my favourites. Good enough to drink straight, but you wouldn't feel bad about putting in some ice, a slice of lemon or, why not, a dash of coca cola (but only a dash). Flor de Caña always keeps its distinct molasses-taste, also in this younger brother of the family.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

This is my standard rum of choice. Oddly enough, I found it mixed best with sweet tea.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Halsey from United States with 27 ratings

Light to medium color. Delicate honey nose, very pleasant. This is a really nice, fairly light bodies sipper. A friend gave this to me, and having had the 12 (not wildly impressed) I expected little. Needless to say I'm surprised at how pleasant it is. A nice caramel touch up front, with a short fruit finish. I actually wouldn't recommend this for mixing as its charms would be buried. Not a world calss sipper, but for the money, you can't miss.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Aged for 7 years, Flor de Cana Gran Reserve offers the option of drinking it neat or mixing it in a cocktail or with coke. With a price tag of about $20, you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for a satisfactory rum either.
Think about trying the other fine rums in the Flor de Cana family as well! You can't go wrong...CHEERS!

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Čistý agricole rum, žádný přidaný cukr či karamel. Je ostřejší a štiplavý, vůně dubového dřeva a karamelu. V chuti dub, tabákové listy a vanilka. Po polknutí dlouho hřeje jak na patře, tak i v hrdle. Za tu cenu bych ho nelitoval použít ani do míchaných nápojů.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I like this rum, not real smooth but nice robust flavor and makes a good Rum and Coke. Decent drinking compared to the 18 year which i was a bit disjointed with.